Skip to content

December 2017 Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews

January 1, 2018

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started December with 210 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* …209! The holidays are always hectic but I managed to get a fair bit read anyways. Didn’t get any books for Christmas other than a cookbook, though, although that’s probably for the best. I did acquire a fair number of ebooks and audiobooks, though. I can’t be good all the time!

…anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo
The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg
The Fairy Tale Detectives by Michael Buckley (reviews coming soon)

Read But Not Owned (Books)
The Ship of the Dead by Rick Riordan
– Locke & Key: Small World by Joe Hill & Gabriel Rodriguez (reviews coming soon)

E-Books
– A Court of Thorns and Roses
by Sarah J. Maas (review coming soon)

Re-Reads
Locke & Key, Vol. 2: Head Games by Joe Hill & Gabriel Rodriguez
Locke & Key, Vol. 3: Crown of Shadows by Joe Hill & Gabriel Rodriguez
Locke & Key, Vol. 4: Keys to the Kingdom by Joe Hill & Gabriel Rodriguez
Locke & Key, Vol. 5: Clockworks by Joe Hill & Gabriel Rodriguez
Locke & Key, Vol. 6: Alpha and Omega by Joe Hill & Gabriel Rodriguez
To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis
The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis

   

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
Landline by Rainbow Rowell (review coming soon)

 
 
Added to my TBR pile (all-around shame!)
Miraculously, nothing this month!  
 
Non-TBR acquisitions (storage-space-related shame!)
The City Tavern Cookbook: Recipes from the Birthplace of American Cuisine by Walter Staib  
 
Added to my eTBR pile (non-storage-space-related shame!)
Welcome to Night Vale by Joseph Fink Hidden Figures: The Untold True Story of Four African-American Women Who Helped Launch our Nation Into Space by Margot Lee Shetterly
Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore by Matthew Sullivan The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell
A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas
Uprooted by Naomi Novik * Pursuant to the discussion on this post, I’ve decided to create an eTBR pile for e-books and audiobooks that I accept for review or for which I actually pay money. I’m not adding them into my total TBR numbers, but I have to fess up about them somewhere. Keeps me honest.
 

© 2018 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2018 7:51 pm

    A decrease in the TBR is always a good thing. Happy New Year!

  2. January 1, 2018 9:40 pm

    WOOHOO! Glad you knocked something off your TBR!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.