Skip to content

February 2018 Wrap-Up: Books and Reading

March 1, 2018

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started February with 208 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* …205! I’m pretty happy with this month; I didn’t spend quite as much time as I’d wanted reading print (non-graphic-novel) books, but I got through a few, and any month that decreases the TBR pile is a good month.

…anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
Ha’Penny by Jo Walton
Wicked Plants: The Weed that Killed Lincoln’s Mother and Other Botanical Atrocities by Amy Stewart (reviews coming soon)

Read But Not Owned (Books)
The Adventures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks
French Milk by Lucy Knisley (reviews coming soon)

Re-Reads
Rat Queens, Vol. 3: Demons by Kurtis J. Wiebe (review coming soon)
Prince Caspian by C. S. Lewis

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
The Fifth Petal by Brunonia Barry
My Life in France by Julia Child
Rat Queens, Vol. 4: High Fantasies by Kurtis J. Wiebe (reviews coming soon)

 

Added to my TBR pile (all-around shame!)
Nothing this month!

 
Non-TBR acquisitions (storage-space-related shame!)
Nothing this month either!
 
Added to my eTBR pile (non-storage-space-related shame!)
Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders The Dispatcher by John Scalzi
So You Want to Talk About Race by Ijeoma Oluo * Pursuant to the discussion on this post, I’ve decided to create an eTBR pile for e-books and audiobooks that I accept for review or for which I actually pay money. I’m not adding them into my total TBR numbers, but I have to fess up about them somewhere. Keeps me honest.
 

© 2018 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2018 7:15 pm

    Eek! My Life in France is one of my favourites. Did you enjoy it? I find Julia so warm and lovely.

    • March 2, 2018 10:08 am

      I did enjoy it! As much as I love cooking, though, I was only passingly aware of Julia Child for most of my life, so I imagine this book probably would have had a bigger impact for someone who had grown up reading her cookbooks, watching her shows, etc.

      • March 5, 2018 11:03 pm

        I wasn’t aware of her either until I saw the movie Julie & Julia (based on another good book – the audiobook is narrated by the author Julie Powell). But ever since watching that movie I’ve been in love with her.

  2. March 1, 2018 9:00 pm

    Lincoln in the Bardo was really good! I did the audio and loved it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.