Skip to content

Happy news, all around!

September 23, 2008

It’s been a good day, all around!

– My second lecture to my class went smoothly, I got a few laughs, people asked intelligent questions, and my undergraduate TAs told me that they thought my lectures were “really good”.

– Appointment with the orthopedist had better news than I was expecting: the damage I did to my knee is most likely the kind that will heal on its own without surgery. Hooray! Of course, it means another few weeks (at least) of limited activity, gimping around, and peg-legging up and down stairs, but… HOORAY!

As I got home from the doctor’s, already in a good mood, I also came home to a mailbox filled with goodies! Not only the copies of His Dark Materials that I’d mooched for a friend (I already have my own set), but also two books that I won from blog giveaways!

The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent, that I won at Reader for Life, and Immortal by Traci L. Slatton, that I won at J. Kaye’s Book Blog.

Thanks again, ladies, for hosting the contests and for sending me such exciting new books! What a perfect capper to an already-great day!

Now, off to dive into Immortal so that I can get participatin’ in The Literate Housewives’ Book Club!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2008 6:47 pm

    Hooray for all of your great news! I know that your doctor’s appointment takes a lot off of your mind. You should be easily be able to catch up with us on Immortal. :)

  2. September 23, 2008 6:54 pm

    Literate Housewife – I have to say, your prediction of Immortal arriving in my mailbox the second I finished The Gargoyle would have been true if I’d gone home to check between class and my appointment! What kind of voodoo powers do you have over my postman? :)

  3. September 23, 2008 7:50 pm

    Yay, Nicki. I’m so glad the knee injury isn’t as bad as originally thought. Also, way to go with your second lecture. I really admire you being able to do that.

    I’m almost finished with Immortal. Can’t wait to start the discussion!

  4. September 24, 2008 11:38 am

    Wow…that does sound like a great day! Hope today is just as wonderful!

  5. September 25, 2008 8:36 pm

    Two books! Yay! I hope you like The Heretic’s Daughter and Immortal looks really good (if you can judge a book by its cover…?)

  6. September 26, 2008 12:52 pm

    Shana & Debi – Thanks so much for the kind thoughts!

    Trish – Thus far, Immortal is pretty good, although I was surprised to realize that it was narrated by a boy – my brain had been interpreting that cover as being a woman, for some reason.

    I was also amused by the fact that both of the books had half-faces on them; I tried messing around with my laptop’s camera and taking a self-portrait of me holding the books with my half-face peeking out the side, but sadly I couldn’t get it to come out right.

  7. September 27, 2008 5:33 pm

    Ooo I’m all jealous! What great books…I’ll be waiting to see what you think of them :)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.