Skip to content

TSS: June 2012 Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews

July 1, 2012

The Sunday Salon.comHappy Sunday, all!

It’s been an embarrassingly long time since I’ve done a Sunday Salon. Things have been crazy busy around here lately (with an emphasis on the crazy), and blogging is unfortunately one of the first things I let slide when I’m stressed. Also unfortunately, things are likely to stay pretty unsettled for a while yet – at least another few months – so I can’t make any promises that I’m going to get better on staying on top of bloggy things. But I’ll muddle through, and hopefully eventually be able to reclaim a little free time and sanity.

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started May with 257 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* …253! Although I feel like I really didn’t get much reading done this month – travel for work, plus just general crazy-business gets in the way – I still think a -4 for the month is none too shabby! And from here, 250 is definitely in sight… 250 being the magical number that I told my friends, many long years ago, not to let me pass, ever. Whoops.

…anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
White Cat by Holly Black

Read But Not Owned
The Unwritten, Vol. 5: On To Genesis by Mike Carey & Peter Gross
The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan
Magic Study by Maria V. Snyder
Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel


Re-Reads
The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman

Short Stories
The Hedge Knight and The Sworn Sword by George R. R. Martin

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss
Welcome to Bordertown: New Stories and Poems of the Borderlands ed. by Holy Black & Ellen Kushner
Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay
Sing the Four Quarters by Tanya Huff
Mean and Lowly Things: Snakes, Science, and Survival in the Congo by Kate Jackson


 
Added to my TBR pile (all-around shame!)
Legends: Stories by the Masters of Modern Fantasy ed. by Robert Silverberg

 

 

© 2012 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2012 10:22 am

    Loved The Wise Man’s Fear!

    • July 2, 2012 10:01 am

      Laurie – Me too! If I ever get my act together for posting my Pick-of-the-Month(s), it’s definitely my pick for June.

  2. cbjamess permalink
    July 1, 2012 11:34 am

    I try to read something from the TBR pile in between all the library book I get. I don’t keep track of the in’s and out’s for the TBR pile, but overall it tends to hold pretty steady. The fact that I cull it at the end of each year, certainly helps.

    • July 2, 2012 10:02 am

      CB – I do my best to alternate TBR and library books too… and while I do purge the TBR pile occasionally, it’s probably not as often (or as large-scale) as I should.

  3. July 1, 2012 12:02 pm

    I approve of your TBR acquisition! Legends is a great anthology. I recommend Legends II as well.

    • July 2, 2012 10:03 am

      Laura – I’ve had Legends II on my shelves for years now; not sure how I got the one but not the other, although I’ve probably already read 1/3 to 1/2 of each of them piecemeal, or in other anthologies, etc.

  4. July 1, 2012 1:20 pm

    At least you read more from the TBR pile than you added to it, I can’t say the same for me – I need to stay away from the library!

    • July 2, 2012 10:05 am

      Sam – The library is always dangerous… even more so since I figured out how to check out ebooks. Somehow I don’t feel as guilty about reading something not from the TBR pile if I don’t have to bring the physical book home with me!

  5. July 4, 2012 5:54 pm

    It looks like you had a great June!!

    • July 6, 2012 9:39 am

      Kailana – While I was in the middle of it, it felt like I was reading absolutely nothing, but in retrospect, I didn’t do too badly.

  6. July 4, 2012 8:58 pm

    I hope you continue to find some pockets of time for bookishness. And I thought you said it would never go over 300. Wasn’t it 300?

    • July 6, 2012 9:41 am

      BiP – And it never *has* been over 300! 277 is the worst it’s been thus far, so 253 is waaay down from there. :)

  7. July 21, 2012 12:00 pm

    For someone who’s been crazy busy, you do a fair amount of blogging! I’m impressed :)

Leave a Reply

