Skip to content

October 2011 Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews

November 2, 2011

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started October with 270 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* …269! I didn’t get as much read this month as I was hoping, mostly because The Way of Kings was a big ol’ chunkster that took me almost 1/3 of the month to read. But I managed to rack up negative numbers anyways, which given that I was also sucked in by the lure of the library booksale clearance, is pretty good, I think.

…anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
Goliath by Scott Westerfeld
Read but not owned
Flight, Vols. 1 & 2 ed. by Kazu Kibuishi
Wildthorn by Jane Eagland
Heartless by Gail Carriger
Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol
Daisy Kutter: The Last Train by Kazu Kibuishi
E-books and Short Stories
Blameless by Gail Carriger*
Re-Reads
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J. K. Rowling
The Curse of Chalion by Lois McMaster Bujold

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle
The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson
Medium Raw: A Bloody Valentine to the World of Food and the People Who Cook by Anthony Bourdain
The Starry Rift ed. by Jonathan Strahan
The Technologists by Matthew Pearl
Remember Me 2: The Return by Christopher Pike



Added to my TBR pile (all-around shame!)
Naomi & Ely’s No Kiss List by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan The Species Seekers by Richard Conniff
The Help by Kathryn Stockett The Nasty Bits: Collected Varietal Cuts, Usable Trim, Scraps, and Bones by Anthony Bourdain
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz
Non-TBR Acquisitions (storage-space-related shame!)
A Baker’s Field Guide to Holiday Candy & Confections by Dede Wilson Sundays at Moosewood Restaurant: Ethnic and Regional Recipes from the Cooks at the Legendary Restaurant

© 2011 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 11:31 am

    Congrats on getting the pile down a bit! I simply refuse to count, so I have no idea where I stand!

    • November 15, 2011 9:40 am

      Kailana – I can see this being one of those “ignorance is bliss” cases, for sure. :-D

  2. November 3, 2011 10:47 pm

    Have you seen the new Book Haiku field on LibraryThing work pages? I saw it and immediately thought of you!

    • November 15, 2011 9:41 am

      Laura – I did see it! Although I’ve actually tried compiling all of my haikus onto one page here, and I gave it up because it was taking forever. There are a LOT of them!

  3. November 4, 2011 12:22 pm

    Boy, I totally understand the acquisition shame. I indulged myself in a trip to the used bookstore a few days ago and came home with five more books to add to the shelf. It was great fun hunting them down though!

    • November 15, 2011 9:42 am

      Alyce – I do my best to stay out of the used bookstore and the library booksale for exactly that reason, although I do let myself go and browse when I’m in a bad mood and need cheering up. :)

Leave a Reply

