Skip to content

March Wrap-Up: Books and Reading

April 1, 2010

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started March with 255 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* … 264! Oh my goodness, I do not know what happened to me this month. I was doing pretty good with acquisitions in the early part of the month, and then it was my birthday, but things were still pretty under control, and then all of a sudden books just started appearing out of nowhere. Books I’d requested, books I hadn’t requested, books I’d requested so long ago that I’d already written them off, books I need to read for work, books I’d mooched months ago and forgotten about. Books coming out of my ears, is basically my point.

…anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
Barrayar by Lois McMaster Bujold
As Simple as Snow by Gregory Galloway
Read but not owned
The Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova
Y: The Last Man, Vol. 4: Safeword by Brian K. Vaughan
Unwritten, Vol. 1: Tommy Taylor and the Bogus Identity by Mike Carey
The Sandman Presents: The Furies by Mike Carey

Changes to the TBR pile

Cleared from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
Mathematics and Sex by Clio Cresswell
Grimm’s Fairy Tales by Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm
Heresy by S. J. Parris
I Am Mordred by Nancy Springer
Year of the Horse by Justin Allen

Added to my TBR pile (shame!)
The Sharing Knife, Vol. 3: Passage by Lois McMaster Bujold Life After God by Douglas Coupland (Nymeth and Jenny have sold me on Coupland as an author, though not this particular book… 1/2 point each.)
The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley (Alyce’s fault) Fireworks Over Toccoa by Jeffrey Stepakoff
The Myth of Monogamy: Fidelity and Infidelity in Animals and People by David P. Barash Blood Feud by Alyxandra Harvey
The Transformation of Bartholomew Fortuno by Ellen Bryson Not in Our Classrooms: Why Intelligent Design is Wrong for Our Schools by Eugenie C. Scott
Generation Kill: Devil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America, and the New Face of American War by Evan Wright The Map of True Places by Brunonia Barry
Cro-Magnon: How the Ice Age Gave Birth to the First Modern Humans by Brian Fagan The Passage by Justin Cronin
Shades of Grey: The Road to High Saffron by Jasper Fforde The Dogs of Rome by Conor Fitzgerald
7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 10:58 am

    I need to read some more Douglas Coupland! I just realized I’ve got two or three of his books lying around my apartment unread. I love your pile of new books. Very curious about the book on intelligent design.

    • April 2, 2010 8:28 am

      Jenny – I’ve heard Eugenie C. Scott (who is the director of the National Center for Science Education, if you didn’t know) speak before, and she seems like a very cool person; I’m hoping the book will be more of the same.

  2. April 1, 2010 1:26 pm

    You have a lot of great looking books there, and really a nice variety among them. Glad I could help add to the TBR pile!

    • April 2, 2010 8:29 am

      Alyce – This month’s acquisitions did seem a little more schizophrenic than normal, for sure.

  3. April 5, 2010 11:03 am

    Haha! I have problems getting my TBR pile smaller, too. It’s out of control and it’s completely not my fault! But we can do it, right?
    Some very interesting books you added though! I’m a bit envious of your copies of “Blood Feud” and “The Passage”! Happy reading!

  4. Will permalink
    April 12, 2010 2:30 pm

    “The Hero and the Crown” is amazing, and I’m glad it’s been added to your TBR! I’d also recommend its sequel “The Blue Sword,” and another of McKinley’s, “Deerskin.” (Robin McKinley owns me.)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.