Skip to content

May Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews

June 1, 2009

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started May with 235 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* … 242!

Gosh, it felt like I did nothing this month but read and post, and still that number went up… but I guess most of my reads were either audiobooks or books from the library, which don’t affect the TBR pile… and a large chunk of my posting was me still playing catch-up from April. We’ll see if I can do better in June.

Let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
The Merlin Conspiracy by Diana Wynne Jones
A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett
Wintersmith by Terry Pratchett
Persuasion by Jane Austen

Read but not owned
Jack of Fables, Vol. 3: The Bad Prince by Bill Willingham
Jack of Fables, Vol 4: Americana by Bill Willingham
Ghosts of the Abyss: A Journey into the Heart of the Titanic by Don Lynch & Ken Marschall
Death: The Time of Your Life by Neil Gaiman

Re-reads
The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams
Life, the Universe, and Everything by Douglas Adams
So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish by Douglas Adams
Mostly Harmless by Douglas Adams
A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

Changes to the TBR pile

Cleared from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
Palace Circle by Rebecca Dean
Zenith by Julie Bertagna
The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe
Throne of Jade by Naomi Novik

Added to, then promptly cleared from my TBR pile (um… huzzah?)
An Edible History of Humanity by Tom Standage
The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

Other removals from my TBR pile (meh?)
Blindness by José Saramago is getting the boot. I tried a few pages of the paper version and could tell the punctuation (or lack thereof) was going to drive me batty. Anybody want my copy?

Added to my TBR pile (shame!)
Longitude: The True Story of a Lone Genius Who Solved the Greatest Scientific Problem of His Time by Dava Sobel
Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly by Anthony Bourdain
The Dante Club by Matthew Pearl
Guinevere’s Gift by Nancy McKenzie
Lord John and the Hand of Devils by Diana Gabaldon
Booth’s Sister by Jane Singer
The Wet Nurse’s Tale by Erica Eisdorfer
Priestess of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley
The Ha-Ha by Dave King
Tomato Rhapsody: A Fable of Love, Lust & Forbidden Fruit by Adam Schell
Last Argument of Kings by Joe Abercrombie
Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson (yay!)

Other Non-TBR Book Acquisitions
Labyrinth by Kate Mosse
7-Day Afghans by Jean Leinhauser & Rita Weiss

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2009 2:08 pm

    Well, at least the new books in your TBR pile look great! =)

  2. June 1, 2009 3:09 pm

    That’s kind of funny, that you ended up with more books! I can absolutely relate to your TBR situation: I’ve often said I am certain that my books multiply themselves when I am not looking! I read one, I buy two… I borrow two instead of buying, and I feel proud, but then I go and buy four more!

    Is there hope for us?

    You have great new books though! My man and I are specially jealous of your Brandon Sanderson copy of Warbreaker!

  3. June 1, 2009 3:16 pm

    Not to taunt the both of you, but Warbreaker *is* pretty great… at least the first 80 pages, which is what I was able to get through last night before I forced myself to go to bed. :)

  4. June 1, 2009 4:09 pm

    Ooh, I’m jealous of your WARBREAKER! I’ll look forward to your review.

  5. June 1, 2009 7:25 pm

    I can’t believe you mentioned 7-day afghans, here’s what I had to say about it on my blog,
    http://blog.newsok.com/okiereads/2008/12/09/cold-outside-and-in-best-afghan-ever/
    I think of it as the best afghan book ever, even with 70’s colors in the first edition.

  6. June 2, 2009 12:17 am

    I’m so envious of your copy of Warbreaker! I loved Elantris, Brandon Sanderson’s other standalone fantasy, and really want to read Warbreaker. I’m hoping an ARC magically appears tomorrow. (Not that I need to add any more books to my TBR list.)

  7. John permalink
    June 2, 2009 1:21 pm

    I’m so proud of you for putting aside a book that you didn’t like ;D Now go to wikipedia and get the gist.

  8. June 2, 2009 2:19 pm

    Memory – It should be up in a few days – it’s fat, and while it’s not a slow read, it’s not something that I want to tear through at top speed, either.

    Kitty – I have several other of their afghan books, and have made some from those patterns… but I’m always looking for new ideas.

    Ruth – Oh, I hope an ARC magically appears for you too!

    John – I… actually kind of already did, during the “how much worse is it going to get” phase of the process. :)

  9. June 3, 2009 12:14 am

    You had a great May! I wish I hadn’t looked at your list of additions to your TBR, though – now I’ve got more on my wish list. You’ve got some interesting titles there.

  10. June 3, 2009 8:56 am

    Belle – Hee, sorry! Which ones did you add?

  11. June 3, 2009 1:51 pm

    Haha – I love that title of Neutral Books! I’ve given up on fighting the TBR pile. I hope you let us know how 7 Day Afghans is – I’m always on the look-out for good crochet afghan books. Someday I will learn how to knit them too because there are so many beautiful knitted afghans out there :)

  12. June 4, 2009 2:51 pm

    Joanne – A few years ago I bought myself one of the “teach yourself to knit” kits that had a book, two pairs of needles, and some accessories, and I was making an afghan within a few days. My problem is finding “knit and crochet” afghan pattern books that aren’t 90% crochet patterns… because while I crochet as well, I much prefer knitting for big projects.

    • June 5, 2009 4:34 pm

      I’ve seen those kits around, maybe I will have to grab one. There was one especially for girls 10-13 and you learned to knit a pink and purple scarf – hopefully that would be easy enough for me :)

      • June 8, 2009 10:43 am

        I’m sure it would. Knitting is as easy as crochet, really. The hardest part of learning, I thought, was learning how to cast on – how to get the stitches on the needle in the first place. Everything else was pretty straightforward.

        Another option would be to pick up a pair of needles and a ball of cotton, and check to see if your library has a learn-to-knit book, and make a few dishcloths. They’re quick, easy to practice on, useful, and if your first few aren’t pretty, what the heck, they’re going to be used for scrubbing dirty dishes anyways. :)

  13. June 4, 2009 8:48 pm

    I always end up with more books. That’s why I don’t count!

    and, yay, Priestess of Avalon. I am in love with Marion Zimmer Bradley’s books!

  14. June 8, 2009 10:45 am

    Kailana – I’ve only read two of her books (Mists of Avalon and one of the other prequels), but based on those, I definitely will pick up more of her stuff when I get the chance.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.