Skip to content

September Wrap-Up

October 1, 2008

September was a little bit slower, reading-wise, than I would have liked, but it was a fantastic month for the blog. Almost *twice* as many hits as I had in August… that’s crazy! I’m sure it was in large part due to Book Blogger Appreciation Week, in which I wasn’t as active as I wanted to be, but it was still a lot of fun… swelled my Google Reader to mammoth proportions, that’s for sure! So, to all my new readers, welcome, and to all my regular readers, thanks for sticking around!

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started September with 192 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* … 196! I’m edging perilously closer to the dreaded 200 mark, at which point one of my friends has threatened to make me purge my shelves and take 50 of them back to the library booksale. But, he doesn’t actually read my blog, so he’ll never know! MWAHAHAHA!

Let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
Dreamsongs, Volume II by George R. R. Martin

Read but not owned
My Bonny Light Horseman by L. A. Meyer
The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson
Fables, Vol. 1: Legends in Exile by Bill Willingham

Changes to the TBR pile

Cleared from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer
Throwing Shadows by E. L. Konigsburg
Politically Correct Bedtime Stories by James Finn Garner
Once Upon a More Enlightened Time by James Finn Garner
The Book of Night with Moon by Diane Duane
Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi

Added to, then promptly cleared from my TBR pile (um… huzzah?)
Immortal by Traci L. Slatton

Other removals from my TBR pile (meh?)
Dirt, Undress, and Difference by Adeline Masquelier (abandoned)
What the Body Remembers by Shauna Baldwin Singh (abandoned)
The King of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner (returned unread)

Added to my TBR pile (shame!)
In the Eye of Heaven by David Keck (not pictured, as it’s on loan to a friend)
The Dreaming Tree by C. J. Cherryh
Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison
The Lost Diary of Don Juan by Douglas Carlton Abrams
Al Capone Does My Shirts by Gennifer Choldenko
The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón
Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
The Bookseller of Kabul by Asne Seierstad
Fablehaven by Brandon Mull
Fairest by Gail Carson Levine
Austenland by Shannon Hale
Ysabel by Guy Gavriel Kay
The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent
The Children’s War by Monique Charlesworth

Commenters in September

Many thanks to everyone who participated in my Review? Haiku! contest – I was impressed at both the number and quality of the entries! Thanks also are due to people who stuck around and commented on my other posts:

– Jessica from The Bluestocking Society
– Bart from Bart’s Bookshelf
– Lenore from Presenting Lenore
– bookchronicle from Adventures in Reading
– Susan from Bloggin’ ‘Bout Books
– Marie from Boston Bibliophile
– Amanda from Life and Times of a New New Yorker
– Jena from Muse Book Reviews
– Trish from Trish’s Reading Nook
– Charley from Bending Bookshelf
– Shana from Literarily
– tometraveller from The Tome Traveller’s Weblog
– Alyce from
At Home with Books
– Alessandra from Out of the Blue
– Ramya from Ramya’s Bookshelf
– Ladytink_534 from The Movieholic and Bibliophile’s Blog
– Rachel from Not Another Mom
– Mari from Mari Reads
– Rachel from Rachel Reads
– Memory from Stella Matutina
Eva Etzioni-Halevy
– Ruth from Bookish Ruth
– Literary Feline from Musings of a Bookish Kitty
– Ann Darnton from Table Talk
– Serena from Savvy Verse and Wit
– Literate Housewife from The Literate Housewife Review
– M from The True Confessions of a Book Lover Named M
– dew from The Hidden Side of a Leaf
– Carl V. from Stainless Steel Droppings
– Debi from Nothing of Importance
– Michelle from A Reader’s Respite
– Linda F. from My Blog Song
– Sandra from Fresh Ink Books
– Joanne from Book Zombie
– Natasha from Maw Books Blog
– Corinne from The Book Nest
– Jeane from Dog Ear Diary
Cheryl Kaye Tardif
– Bethany from B & b Ex Libris
The Bookworm
– Karen H. from Scobberlotch
– Nymeth from Things Mean a Lot
Laura

GirlwiththeBraids, John, hope, Abdallah, amandasue, emmegail, Elizabeth M., blacklin, person from earth, me!

Search Terms

how do i write an e-mail to cornelia funke
Presumably with a computer. And, judging by the comments that I got on my review of Inkspell, with very poor grammar and spelling.

naked stephenie cay
Every time I get searches like this, I can’t help but giggle a little at how terribly disappointed these people must be to find themselves at a blog about books… and not even books about naked people.

“morbid sore throat”
This has recently replaced “running stag brooch” as the most frequent Outlander-related random search term. I am not a doctor, people! (not yet, anyways… but not that kind of doctor, either.)

brandon sanderson blog
You can find that at BrandonSanderson.com.

diana gabaldon – why did she name it drums of autumn
She explains in more detail in The Outlandish Companion, but I think her basic reasoning was that it sounded good, and that she liked the one word (Outlander), D-A (Dragonfly in Amber), one word (Voyager), D-A (Drums of Autumn) pattern it gave her books.

is breaking dawn appropriate for preteen
No. Really, really, really NO.

the name of the wind a second book?
The Name of the Wind is the first book in the series The Kingkiller Chronicles, the second one is called The Wise Man’s Fear, and will be released on 7 April 2009.

7th jacky mary faber book
According to JackyFaber.com, the seventh Bloody Jack book will be titled “Rapture of the Deep: Being an Account of the Further Adventures of
Jacky Faber, Soldier, Sailor, Mermaid, Spy”, and the first draft was being edited as of April 2008.

i didn’t read the book for school and i
I don’t know which book they were looking for, but is it any wonder the educational system’s in the state it’s in?

what is the seven instructions to leave
…Las Vegas? ….your lover? …on a jet plane? Help me out here!

postman with bad knee
No, graduate student with two bad knees. (Seriously, postman?)

email me a book of wizardry
Give me your e-mail address and I’ll see what I can do.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2008 7:38 am

    My TBR pile is growing faster than I can read, too. To make it worse, I keep asking for books and I’m going to a bookstore for a an author event tonight. I know I’ll be bringing something home with me – I’ve already been thinking about possibilities.

  2. October 1, 2008 8:32 am

    Did I not comment all month? Bad me!

  3. October 1, 2008 8:37 am

    Kathy – It’s an addiction, it’s terrible! I’ve actually started to get disappointed when I come home to check the mailbox and it doesn’t have a book in it! It’s all those pesky bookmooch points I’ve got stockpiled.

    DoB – I didn’t see it, but if I missed it, I’m sorry. In any case, you’re covered for October, now. :)

  4. October 1, 2008 11:16 am

    Thanks for the mention in the haiku contest. It was fun.

    My TBR pile continues to grow at a faster pace than I can read them!

  5. October 1, 2008 11:59 am

    I know just how you feel. For every book I clear out of the TBR stack, another 3 somehow make their way into my house. It’s a curse, I tell you! Sigh.

    Looking at those search terms reminded me of something: have you ever received “do my book-related homework for me” e-mails? I got my first the other day, lol. The kid didn’t even bother trying to disguise it. They said something like “I read book x recently so I was wondering…” and they typed up what was obviously the question their teacher have given them.

  6. October 1, 2008 12:11 pm

    Serena – I tried to limit my TBR acquisition by forcing myself to admit to it on my blog, but it’s obviously not working… probably because everyone reading has the same addiction as I do, so no one here can shame me into stopping!

    Nymeth – There was a comment exchange on my Devil in the White City post that took me a while before I twigged to the fact that I was doing someone else’s homework. There was also a “graduate project survey” on my post about Extras that felt a little too high-school worksheet-y for me to do. I do get “Book report on ________” searches all the time, though.

  7. October 1, 2008 12:30 pm

    I have sitemeter and I still don’t know how to find the search terms :( It would be interesting, especially since 9 out of 10 visitors for one of my blogs arrive there via google images.

    I’m kind of going to steal your idea :)

  8. October 1, 2008 12:35 pm

    This was fun to read!! OOH the wonderful books in this world. I love how you are keeping track :)

  9. October 1, 2008 1:14 pm

    You probably didn’t miss it, I was sort of bad at commenting last month. My goal for October is that you won’t have to count my comments on today’s post. =)

  10. October 1, 2008 1:29 pm

    Ladytink – I don’t know if there are any third-party applications that will keep track of search terms; WordPress does it for us automatically.

    Corinne – I keep the acquisition and reading dates in my LibraryThing account, but I do enjoy having the monthly summaries for my own sake, as well.

    DoB – Hee hee, fair enough.

  11. October 1, 2008 7:48 pm

    Nicki, I LOVE when you post the search terms.

    Al Capone Does My Shirts … oh, that’s such a great little YA novel. I’d forgotten about it until I saw it on your list.

  12. October 1, 2008 7:53 pm

    Aw shucks, thanks for the mention. I’m glad I found your blog. :)

  13. October 1, 2008 8:17 pm

    Shana – it’s one I’d seen mentioned on the LT YA group over and over, and I kept seeing it at my library… so I finally broke down and mooched myself a copy. When I’ll get around to reading it is another story altogether.

    Karen – Glad to have you here!

  14. October 1, 2008 8:52 pm

    Ladytink, you can try Google Analytics. That keeps track of your search terms.

    I think I have to wait until next week to post my wrap-up, commenters, etc. Between a review a day and a banned book spotlight a day, I don’t want to add more posts that will just get lost. Stupid 100th review and banned books week coming at the same time!

  15. October 1, 2008 10:35 pm

    You were worried about getting Immortal on time and you finished it before I did. ;)

  16. October 2, 2008 3:36 am

    Hilarious search terms! The ones I get are not so funny sadly.

  17. October 2, 2008 1:26 pm

    Thanks for the linkage :D It was also a nice poke to remind me to do my own wrap up for once. (I usually remember in the middle of the month!)

  18. October 2, 2008 3:53 pm

    wow–200 books! That is so fantastic. I recently signed up for google analytics (or installed it I guess) but my keywords aren’t quite as funny. It is interesting to see which of my pages are the most looked at–posts that didn’t really seem all that popular when I first published them!

  19. October 3, 2008 7:26 am

    DoB – Yes, having *too much content* to post must be a terrible burden. ;)

    Literate Housewife – Well, you announced the starting of the discussion, which I thought meant that everyone but me had finished and was ready to start discussing. I had to read fast to catch up!

    Lenore – The vast, vast majority of search terms I get are pretty mundane – I just go through and cull some of the weirder ones.

    Bart – No problem. :)

    Trish – I know what you mean about the randomly popular pages. I had NO IDEA so many people were looking for information on politically correct fairy tales – I mean, the book’s over a decade old – but that’s been near the top of my pageview list every day since I posted it.

  20. October 10, 2008 9:17 am

    I love Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging! I can definitely relate to this post, a few months ago I was at 200+ TBR pile now it’s more like 300+ it’s horrible… in a good way :D

  21. October 10, 2008 2:36 pm

    Alea – Always nice to know that there’s someone else out there with the same problem! (but what an excellent kind of problem to have!)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.