Skip to content

Eoin Colfer – Artemis Fowl

July 5, 2010

68. Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer (2001)
Artemis Fowl, Book 1

Read By: Nathaniel Parker
Length: 6h 06min (301 pages)

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Started: 06 June 2010
Finished: 16 June 2010

Where did it come from? The library.
Why do I have it? I needed something short, simple, fun, and attention-holding to listen to.

If you kidnap a
fairy, you’d better make sure
she’s out of magic.

Summary: Artemis Fowl is a strategic genius, a technological prodigy, and a budding criminal mastermind… and he’s only 12 years old! His latest scheme involves the acquisition of gold, and lots of it. He’s got his hands on a book of fairy secrets, and he uses it to kidnap a fairy and hold it for ransom. But the fairy in question is one Captain Holly Short, a member of the L.E.P. reconnaissance (LEP re-con, for short) team, and her commanding officer is going to use every magical resource at their disposal to see her rescued safely… and see Artemis dead in the process.

Review: I think most people start reading Eoin Colfer with the Artemis Fowl series and branch out from there; I’ve done things backwards, reading several of his stand-alone books first and only now getting around to his main series. What I’ve discovered, so far, is that while Colfer’s books might never knock my socks off, they are always a reliable source for a fun, engaging, and imaginative read. Artemis Fowl was no exception; while it was geared towards a little younger of an audience than I typically prefer (more mid-grade than young adult, I think), there were still lots of clever bits and sly jokes that made me giggle, and the story was fast-paced enough with enough exciting action to keep me engaged, and to allow me to overlook things like the farting dwarf. There was also a surprising emotional core running throughout that made the book something more than just a light and fluffy story. 4 out of 5 stars.

Recommendation: Overall, it’s a good combination of fantasy, action, and humor; geared towards the younger set but with enough cleverness to the worldbuilding and the jokes that it should hold the attention of adults, too. I’ll definitely be reading the sequels.

This Review on LibraryThing | This Book on LibraryThing | This Book on Amazon

Other Reviews: Bookgirl’s Nightstand, Gimmie More Books, Jace Scribbles, MariReads, Pretentious Reader, 3 Evil Cousins, What KT Reads, Word Lily
Have you reviewed this book? Leave a comment with the link and I’ll add it in.

First Line: How does one describe Artemis Fowl?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2010 1:46 am

    Have fun with the sequels! Love Artemis. Well, I adored him as this evil genius villain but I’ve grown to love him as the series progresses (and that’s not a spoiler, promise).

    • July 6, 2010 9:57 am

      Lightheaded – There are other things higher up on my listening queue (The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, for one), but after that I’m definitely diving back into the sequels.

  2. July 5, 2010 3:14 am

    I’ve really enjoyed this series too! Artemis is a really great character.

  3. July 5, 2010 11:45 am

    I read the first Artemis Fowl a while ago, and it didn’t thrill me – it seemed a bit drunk on its own cleverness. Maybe if I’d started with some of Colfer’s other work…

    • July 6, 2010 9:59 am

      Jenny – I can totally see where you’re coming from; but I think I’m enough charmed by the book’s cleverness that it doesn’t bother me if it is too, if that makes sense.

      The Supernaturalist and Half-Moon Investigations are both quite enjoyable, although I have to give the later the nod for making me enjoy a genre (crime noir) that I usually don’t care for.

  4. July 5, 2010 3:33 pm

    Yay! Artemis is always a lot of fun! Fart jokes for the target audience, and a nice line of darker more subversive humour for the more, experienced readers :D

    • July 6, 2010 10:00 am

      Bart – Exactly! (Plus, I think I’m immature enough that at least part of me occasionally giggles at the fart jokes, too. :)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.