Skip to content

Sunday Salon: Lazy Sunday snippets

October 18, 2009

The Sunday Salon.comHappy Sunday, all!

First, a little bit of read-a-thon prep: I am going to try not to overload everyone’s feed readers with constant postings. I really liked the way I did it in spring: one post that I would edit every hour or so with my progress since the last edit. It probably cut down on the number of comments I got, since I didn’t have new posts going up all of the time, but it kept things streamlined, and I like being able to look back and track my progress through time.

On that note, I’m offering up the spreadsheet I use for my Read-a-Thon tracking (which, as a point of interest, I am *still* unable to type as anything other than read-a-thong). You enter in: your local time zone, what books you’re reading, what page number you’ve reached at each hour mark, and how much of each hour you’ve spent reading (or listening to audiobooks), and it tells you how many pages you’ve read each hour, your cumulative page count, and your total reading time. It doesn’t make pretty graphs or calculate lots of stats or anything, but if you’ve got ideas, let me know and I’ll see if I can work them in. You can download it at the link above.

I had big plans to get lots of things accomplished today, reviews to write and work to get caught up on, but my parents were visiting this weekend, which was nice, but they didn’t leave until almost one, and then my book (In the Woods by Tana French) was really, really good. Between this, and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, I’m starting to re-think my aversion to detective stories and police procedurals. Mystery readers: any recommendations (apart from the sequels to these books, which I’m already on top of) as to where I should look next?

Also, don’t forget that I’ve got an awesome giveaway going; Tor is letting me give away THREE sets of The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan and Mistborn: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson. You can enter (by the end of this coming Wednesday) over at the giveaway post.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2009 5:38 pm

    Thank you so much for the spreadsheet. It will help me a lot during the readathon.

    • October 18, 2009 7:29 pm

      debnance – Great! If you have any questions or suggestions, please let me know!

  2. October 18, 2009 6:54 pm

    I’m a big fan of your spreadsheets, as you know, so I’m definitely going to be trying this one out.

    • October 18, 2009 7:29 pm

      Jen – Heh, it’s nowhere near as fancy as the regular reading tracking spreadsheet… probably because it only gets used two days a year.

      • October 19, 2009 2:23 pm

        That’s okay, it is more fancy than the NOTHING I have been using to track my Readathon reading until now.

      • October 19, 2009 6:26 pm

        Jen – Hee hee, fair enough.

  3. October 18, 2009 7:00 pm

    Sounds like you are all ready for Saturday. :-) Good luck with the read-a-thon!

    I am glad you enjoyed In the Woods so much! I really liked that one too.

    I hope you have a great week!

    • October 18, 2009 7:30 pm

      Literary Feline – I’m only about halfway through In the Woods, but it’s great so far, and it’s been really hard to force myself away from reading it straight through.

  4. October 18, 2009 7:29 pm

    For mysteries I like Karin Slaughter – she also tends to highlight abuse of women, but her characters are complex and well-rounded.

    • October 18, 2009 7:31 pm

      rhapsodyinbooks – Thanks for the recommendation — any book in particular I should look for to start?

  5. October 18, 2009 8:06 pm

    I just grabbed your spreadsheet too. Thanks so much!

    • October 18, 2009 9:17 pm

      Jennifer – No problem… I hope you find it useful!

  6. October 18, 2009 9:26 pm

    I hope you had a great time with your parents. We went to see our son this weekend and I’m sure we kept him from doing things too. Have fun with the read-a-thon!

    • October 19, 2009 6:23 pm

      bermudaonion – I did have a really good time with my parents. It’s just that they stayed a smidge longer than I expected to… but sometimes that extra hour just threw off the whole day, y’know?

  7. October 18, 2009 10:41 pm

    Interesting spreadsheet! If ever I find the time to join the read-a-thon, I’ll read it too!

    • October 19, 2009 6:25 pm

      Kay – I’m such a spreadsheet nerd. I think it’s because I’m so disorganized in general that I have to organize where I can. ;)

  8. October 19, 2009 8:22 am

    You might enjoy Ann Cleeves’ Shetland Quartet which begins with Raven Black. Or there’s the Vera Stanhope series starting with The Crow Trap. I’ve become quite a fan of Cleeves.

  9. October 19, 2009 10:51 am

    I’ll have to check out the spreadsheet. I love spreadsheets and statistics (especially when related to books and number of pages read). :)

  10. October 20, 2009 7:14 am

    I love the spreadsheet! I had a much simpler one the last time and I like this one better. Thank you!

  11. October 20, 2009 11:00 pm

    Regarding mysteries, I would highly recommend Dennis Lehane. I most enjoyed his series, which began with Drink Before the War.

  12. April 5, 2010 9:48 am

    Thanks so much for the use of the spreadsheet! Very, very helpful!
    And about mysteries – if you liked Stieg Larsson, try James Rollins or Steve Berry. It will be tough to match Stieg Larsson, a shame he’s no longer with us…

  13. April 10, 2010 2:05 am

    Thanks for the spread sheet! Looks very helpful! :D

Trackbacks

  1. The Unread Reader | Read-a-Thon! Ready…Set…GO! | The Unread Reader

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.