Skip to content

Justin Somper – Vampirates: Blood Captain

May 8, 2009

52. Blood Captain by Justin Somper (2007)
Vampirates, Book 3

Read my Review of:
– Book 1, Demons of the Ocean
– Book 2, Tide of Terror

Length: 569 pages

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Started: 26 April 2009
Finished: 30 April 2009

Where did it come from? Library
Why do I have it? Because I read the first two, and am a compulsive finisher, and apparently a slight masochist.
How long has it been on my TBR pile? N/A
Verdict? Eh. I’ll probably still read the fourth one, but see above re: compulsive finisher/masochist.

Lorcan’s still blind, while
Connor’s growing up… and that’s
really about it.

Summary: As this book opens, the Vampirate Captain, Grace, and Lorcan are seeking the Sanctuary, a place where vampires can learn to control their hunger, and where the spiritual leader of the retreat may be able to cure Lorcan’s blindness, which may have deeper psychological causes than simple sun damage. Connor, however, is learning more and more about what it really means to be a pirate – and when he acquires an enemy in the form of Captain Wrathe’s spoiled, malevolent nephew, he must start making decisions about what kind of pirate he really wants to be.

Review: Why do I keep reading these books? I mean, they’re not *bad* per se (although the writing relies a bit heavily on telling rather than showing for my tastes), and it’s a cool world, with likable characters and plenty of potential for interesting things… but nothing ever happens. Seriously, I think I could sum up the main developments of this installment in three or four sentences… which makes me wonder why exactly this book needed to be pushing 600 pages. I don’t know how long the Vampirates series is planned to be, but normally the end of the third book is not where you start introducing new major characters and new plot threads… and at the glacial pace this series is moving, it’ll be book eleven before the dangers foreshadowed in this book ever come to pass. We do start getting some answers about the backstory that’s been hinted at since book one, but they’re sparse… and then the book just ends, right when it looked like some forward progress was about to be made. Younger readers might not have as many issues sticking it out while Grace and Connor meander around, but each installment I read makes me less hopeful that I’ll actually get any of the answers I’m after in the next one. 2.5 out of 5 stars.

Recommendation: If someone were to come along and turn the first three Vampirates books into one single (and much-condensed) volume, I’d definitely recommend it. As is, though, the filler:plot progress ratio is too high for me to give this more than a lukewarm recommendation.

This Review on LibraryThing | This Book on LibraryThing | This Book on Amazon

Other Reviews: J. Kaye’s Book Blog
Have you reviewed this book? Leave a comment with the link and I’ll add it in.

First Line: “Come on Connor. You can do it!”

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2009 11:33 am

    I may have to skip these….I’m a stickler about telling rather than showing and hate it. I also wouldn’t like the book ending in the middle of major plot development/motion. UGh…though I like the premise of these.

  2. May 8, 2009 5:16 pm

    Every time I see a review of one of these I laugh because the word “vampirates” is funny. I don’t think I’ll read them though — drawn out series bug me because, like you, I feel as if I have to finish them. That’s sort of what happened with Eragon and EldestBrinsger was sooooo long, but I read it and will keep reading because I have to know what happens.

  3. May 8, 2009 11:15 pm

    Serena – Yeah, it’s such a cool idea, but it really feels like he’s dragging it out longer than even a cool idea really merits.

    Kim – Oh, god, me too. Hopefully the fourth Eragon book is actually going to be the end… which means *something* will have to happen. Hopefully. :)

  4. May 9, 2009 4:52 pm

    I listened to the audiobook of the first one, but for whatever reason have not felt compelled to continue the series, although I thought I might some time. As must-read books pile up on my list (and my bookshelves), I’m thinking I may stop at #1. Thanks for the review!

  5. May 11, 2009 11:29 am

    Darla – Yeah, they don’t really get any better after the first one, and we’re only veeeeeeeery slowly getting around to some answers about the Tempest twin’s history – which I will totally tell you if you’re curious, and save you the time of having to read them for yourself. :)

  6. May 11, 2009 8:05 pm

    I’m tempted, but it seems a bit too much like cheating. :-) If I really have to know, I’ll have to go read them. But thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Blood Captain by Justin Somper « Koorihime-sama's Book Reviews

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.