Skip to content

Sunday Salon: Book Bloggers Search Engine

March 1, 2009

The Sunday Salon.comI always do my best to find links to other book bloggers’ reviews of whatever book I’m reading to include at the bottom of the post. I started this in part because I wanted to emphasize that my opinion is just one of many, and there’s always someone out there who loved a book I didn’t care for, and vice versa. But I also wanted to help highlight all of the work that we do – anyone can go to Amazon or LibraryThing and find more reviews for a book, but book bloggers are an awesome little community, and I enjoy spreading the linky love when I can.

At first, I was searching my feed reader to find other people’s posts, but that quickly got frustrating when I realized it wasn’t pulling from posts older than a few months. Regular googling works okay, but there’s a lot of sorting through corporate non-book-blogger pages. So I created a custom search engine that will just search the sites I specify – and I gave it about 200 sites, which I realize is just a drop in the bucket of who’s out there, but you have to start somewhere.

Here’s the link: Book Blogs Search. Try it out and tell me what you think.

My worry is: am I duplicating something that already exists out there? I know there are various book blog registry-type sites out there… do they have a search-among-members function? I’m not going to put a lot of effort into maintaining this if someone else has already done the work for me, but if this is something that other people might find useful, I’ll look into giving it its own page, creating a listing of searched sites, etc.

EDIT: Okay, apparently people would find this useful. Now I need to ask for help… Send me the URLs of book blogs that you think should be included in the search. I’ll work on putting up a listing of what’s currently included, but in the meantime, don’t worry about duplications – I don’t think it’s a big deal if I accidentally set the search engine to include a site more than once, and the more book blogs we can search, the merrier.

39 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2009 11:27 am

    I think this is so wonderful! I have been wanting to do what you’ve been doing all along, but now I can create a search for the book and add a link to it at the end of my posts. This is a great resource!

    • March 1, 2009 11:39 am

      LH – it works best for moderate-to-rare books… anything that’s likely to pop up on a “101 top books meme” gets kind of hard to sift through the results to find actual reviews.

  2. March 1, 2009 11:29 am

    What a very cool concept. I can see now that I’ll be spending more time than I should playing with this!

  3. March 1, 2009 11:34 am

    Wow – you’ve been hard at work! I’ve bookmarked it.

  4. March 1, 2009 12:35 pm

    Oooh, that’s very cool.

  5. March 1, 2009 12:42 pm

    This is really cool! I know I haven’t seen anything like it.

  6. March 1, 2009 1:00 pm

    I like this a lot – thank you!!

  7. rantsandreads permalink
    March 1, 2009 2:12 pm

    This is a great idea! You’ve done a great job putting this together. I can’t wait to start using it. Thanks!

  8. March 1, 2009 3:15 pm

    That’s really neat! I like it. How can bloggers ensure that we’ve given you our URL to add to your 200 list?

    Sheri
    A Novel Menagerie

    • March 1, 2009 9:09 pm

      I’ll put up the list sometime this week, but no worries, you’re already on it.

  9. March 1, 2009 4:10 pm

    What a fantastic idea, thank you so much! Am I included, lol?

  10. March 1, 2009 4:27 pm

    I would love it if you would list my URL…..I already used this search engine this afternoon to link another blog that reviewed Still Alice to mine that I had just posted. What an awesome tool!!!

    http://www.lifeinthethumb.blogspot.com

  11. March 1, 2009 4:36 pm

    What a great idea! I love it. I’ve awarded you a “Your Blog is Fabulous” award. Check it out on my blog.

  12. March 1, 2009 4:38 pm

    This is an awesome idea, so no wonder two book bloggers came up with it independently. The other one was Rebecca from Rebecca Reads: here. You should join forces!

    • March 1, 2009 9:08 pm

      I knew I couldn’t be the only one who’d come up with this idea.

  13. March 1, 2009 5:32 pm

    Bless you! I have been wanting to find something like this for a while. I can’t count the number of times I remember something about a book or a post and can’t figure out which blog I read it on.

    This is wonderful!

  14. March 1, 2009 5:32 pm

    Very handy resource, bookmarking it.

  15. March 1, 2009 6:31 pm

    Very cool! I bookmarked it.

    If you use Google Reader, you can do a search of all the blogs you subscribe to…but I haven’t seen a search engine open for others that search all book blogs.

    Would love to have you add my blog: http://www.caribousmom.com

    Thanks for doing this – what a great service to book bloggers!

  16. March 1, 2009 7:24 pm

    This is wonderful! I will definitely use this. I would love to be added as well. My blog is new: http://eveningreader.wordpress.com

  17. March 1, 2009 8:00 pm

    This is fantastic! I’m definitely bookmarking the site! If you don’t mind, I’d like my blog added to it as well.

    http://readingandruminations.wordpress.com

  18. March 1, 2009 9:05 pm

    sounds like a great idea to me.

  19. March 1, 2009 9:14 pm

    FYI – everyone up to this point was either already included or has since been added! I’ll put up a list of included sites soon.

    Also, my anti-spam software is catching a lot of legit comments… so don’t freak out if yours doesn’t show up right away, I’ll get to it as soon as I can.

  20. March 1, 2009 11:26 pm

    This is wonderful! Thank you Fyrefly.

  21. March 1, 2009 11:36 pm

    Wonderful idea! I will definitely be making use of it.

  22. March 2, 2009 1:52 am

    It seems no one mentioned this, but there is Google Blog Search (http://blogsearch.google.com/). Thought I guess it doesn’t 100% help eliminate corporate non-review stuff.

  23. March 2, 2009 8:09 am

    What a great idea! Can you please add http://yannabe.com ?

    Thanks! :-)

  24. March 2, 2009 8:17 pm

    This is an interesting tool Firefly but you should be able to set it up so that it updates itself otherwise it will become a back breaker.
    You might want to check the links I have running on Crime Fiction Journeys
    http://crimefic-journeys.blogspot.com/

  25. March 2, 2009 9:16 pm

    What a great idea! Thanks for all of your hard work. I have it bookmarked too.

  26. March 3, 2009 6:24 pm

    I think this is a great resource! Thanks for including my blog in the search.

  27. March 3, 2009 6:46 pm

    Thanks for the inspiration. I have created a crime fiction (mainly blogs) search and put it on both MYSTERIES IN PARADISE and CRIME FICTION JOURNEYS

  28. March 5, 2009 2:57 pm

    What a great resource. Thanks for sharing!

  29. callista83 permalink
    March 6, 2009 8:44 pm

    Looks great. I already knew about Rebecca’s but yours is easier to navigate, I was able to add it right to my google homepage which is cool.

    If you want, I have about 80 book blogs in my favourites that i could send you. Many you probably already have added but a lot are new book blogs and aren’t well known at all.

    email me callista83 AT cogeco DOT ca if you want

  30. March 10, 2009 7:26 pm

    You should have all the book review sites mentioned at http://herebereviews.com/ in the search. I don’t know if the person maintaining that has a search set up for her list or not.

  31. March 28, 2009 7:49 pm

    Would you please add my blog to the book blog search engine.

    http://www.mytwoblessings.com

    Thank you.

  32. April 7, 2009 12:29 pm

    Wow! That is really cool.

  33. April 13, 2009 10:40 pm

    Feel free to add mine! :)

    http://openmindinsertbook.blogspot.com

Trackbacks

  1. Devourer of Books » Blog Archive » The Sunday Salon - This Week in Links
  2. Weekly Geeks 2009.12: Book Review Link Exchange

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.