Skip to content

Read-a-thon Hours 10 & 11 and Midway Meme

October 18, 2008
tags:

Mid-Event Survey:

1. What are you reading right now?

The Wordy Shipmates by Sarah Vowell (which I won during BBAW!).  History of the Puritans might seem like a poor choice for 11+ hours into the read-a-thon, but after reading historical romance, middle-grade fantasy, and chick-lit romance so far today, I wanted something a little more “grown-up”.  I picked up Headless Males Make Great Lovers by Marty Crump, read two paragraphs, and put it down again; I’m sure it’s good, but it’s too much like work to hold my interest at this point.  Plus, Sarah Vowell’s writing is funny and flow-y (which mine, apparently, is not anymore).  I might not read this one straight through, though.

2. How many books have you read so far?
The last half of one, two whole ones, and the first quarter of another.  So… 2 3/4?

3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?
I think I’m probably going to tackle Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians next – I’ve got an ARC of the sequel coming my way (via BookMooch, hooray!), so I should read the first.  Plus there’s that whole stack of Fables for when I get really tired.

4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day?
Not really.  Saturdays are usually for errands, but it doesn’t take a lot of special arrangements to procrastinate them all until tomorrow.

5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?
You mean other than the continuous hour-and-a-half of the smoke alarms going off?

6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?
I tend to fall asleep when I’m reading fairly easily, particularly in the afternoons when I get home from work, and despite being really badly sleep deprived, I’ve only gotten dozy once today, and didn’t actually succumb.

7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
Nope!

8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year?
More and varied snacks.  I’ve got a strong craving for gummie coins – the red raspberry ones.

9. Are you getting tired yet?
A fair sized part of me really, really wants to take a break and watch a DVD – especially after reading Austenland.

10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered?
Cinnamon-sugar pita chips.  Seriously.

Pages read since last update: 104
Time read since last update: 1h 12m

Total pages read: 816
Total time read: 6h 40m
Total audiobook time: 0h 42m

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2008 7:00 pm

    Those cinnamon-sugar pita chips sound wonderful. Keep up the great work. :D

  2. October 18, 2008 7:08 pm

    I won my current book from BBAW also! :-)
    You’re doing great!
    Lezlie

  3. October 18, 2008 7:11 pm

    Mmm…cinnamon-sugar pita chips sound yummy right about now…
    Happy reading! :)

  4. October 18, 2008 7:16 pm

    Can’t say I have ever even heard of Cinnamon-sugar pita chips.

    Keep up the good work!

  5. Kim permalink
    October 18, 2008 8:13 pm

    I’m really glad things are going well so far!

    Good luck for the rest of the Read-a-Thon and don’t end up like this… http://www.ahajokes.com/crt579.html

    Kim at Sophisticated Dorkiness

  6. October 18, 2008 8:21 pm

    My kids tease me with they know dinner is done when the smoke alarm goes off! Sometimes it is true! LOL. Read on!

  7. Ben permalink
    October 18, 2008 8:39 pm

    Sorry, didn’t know we were supposed to be cheerleading. Go reading go! You can do it! Turn that page!

  8. October 18, 2008 8:48 pm

    Your doing great and your reading choices are terrific! I need Fables 5 before I can continue on in the series, I feel like crying as I see 6 through 10 waiting on my shelf :)

  9. October 18, 2008 9:00 pm

    It sounds like you’re doing great!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.