Skip to content

December 2016 Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews

January 1, 2017

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started December with 212 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* …213! Well, that’s about it for 2016, folks. Wouldn’t want to go changing my abysmally slow reading habits at the last minute. I blame the stress of the end of the semester, followed by the stress of an insanely short winter break during which I had to not only do holiday things but also prepare for the looming spring semester. We’ll see what 2017 brings (grading. The answer is going to be "grading.") and whether or not I can finally, finally get back in the swing of reading and reviewing.

…anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
The Secret Chord by Geraldine Brooks (review coming soon)

Read But Not Owned (Books)
Stars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection by Marissa Meyer (review coming soon)

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
The Winds of Folly by Seth Hunter

 

Other removals from the TBR pile (um… huzzah?)
Worlds Elsewhere: Journey’s Around Shakespeare’s Globe by Andrew Dickson (I have been working on this book since May and just never was interested enough to go back to it, so I finally gave it up and DNFed it.)

 
 
Added to my TBR pile (all-around shame!)
Toad Rage by Morris Gleitzman (It was a quarter. How could I pass that up?) The Bands of Mourning by Brandon Sanderson
Crosstalk by Connie Willis  
 
Non-TBR acquisitions (storage-space-related shame!)
(both of these were from white elephant gift exchanges, at two very different types of holiday party!)
Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice: A Coloring Classic by Chellie Carroll Fifty Shades of Chicken by F. L. Fowler
 
Added to my eTBR pile (non-storage-space-related shame!)
Grunt: The Curious Science of Humans at War by Mary Roach A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
Ha’Penny by Jo Walton Half a Crown by Jo Walton
* Pursuant to the discussion on this post, I’ve decided to create an eTBR pile for e-books and audiobooks that I accept for review or for which I actually pay money. I’m not adding them into my total TBR numbers, but I have to fess up about them somewhere. Keeps me honest.

© 2017 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2017 9:40 pm

    I’m impressed that your stacks only increased by 1!

  2. January 2, 2017 8:28 am

    I really want to read Crosstalk. Hopefully sometime this year!

  3. January 2, 2017 10:48 am

    Adding Mary Roach to one’s collection is never a shame:)!

Leave a Reply

