Skip to content

October 2016 Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews

November 1, 2016

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started October with 202 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* …211! Well, October was a wash. I didn’t read much, didn’t listen to much, and was just busy and crazy and crazy busy all month. (Did get to the library booksale, though, obviously!) But it’s over now, and I spent last night laying on my couch reading, and it was delightful. Hopefully I’ll get to more of that, and maybe a few of my (WAY) overdue reviews during November!

…anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride by Cary Elwes (review coming soon)

Read But Not Owned (Graphic Novels)
Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier
Little Fish: A Memoir from a Different Kind of Year by Ramsey Beyer (reviews coming soon)

Re-Reads
Voyager by Diana Gabaldon

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
The Bookman’s Tale by Charles C. Lovett (review coming soon)

 
 
Non-TBR acquisitions (storage-space-related shame!)
The Sandman, Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes by Neil Gaiman Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion
BtVS, Season 8, Vol. 3: Wolves at the Gate by Drew Goddard Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol
Fables, Vol. 13: The Great Fables Crossover by Bill Willingham Sisters by Raina Telgemeier
 
Added to my TBR pile (all-around shame!)
Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan The Fifth Petal by Brunonia Barry (not pictured)
Your Inner Fish: A Journey into the 3.5-Billion-Year History of the Human Body by Neil Shubin The Just City by Jo Walton
The Fifth Season by N. K. Jemisin The Witch’s Daughter by Paula Brackston
Bellman & Black by Diane Setterfield The Comet Seekers by Helen Sedgwick
The Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror: Ninth Annual Collection edited by Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling The Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror: Tenth Annual Collection edited by Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling
 
Added to my eTBR pile (non-storage-space-related shame!)
Prince Lestat by Anne Rice * Pursuant to the discussion on this post, I’ve decided to create an eTBR pile for e-books and audiobooks that I accept for review or for which I actually pay money. I’m not adding them into my total TBR numbers, but I have to fess up about them somewhere. Keeps me honest.
 

© 2016 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2016 7:20 am

    Hope to see you around a bit more. You got a great bunch of books!

  2. buriedinprint permalink
    November 7, 2016 8:11 pm

    There is such a lot of overlap between our shelves and stacks. And I’m really looking forward to your thoughts on As You Wish!

Leave a Reply

