Skip to content

July 2016 Monthly Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews

August 2, 2016

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started July with 201 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* …202! Not too shabby… not too shabby at all! I haven’t caught up with reviews like I wanted to, but I’m chiselling away at it (even as I’m reading and adding more to the pile, oh well.)

…anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
Farthing by Jo Walton
Gregor and the Code of Claw by Suzanne Collins (reviews coming soon)

Read But Not Owned (Graphic Novels)
Girl Genius Omnibus: Agatha Awakens by Phil & Kaja Foglio
Undeleted Scenes by Jeffrey Brown
Pride of Baghdad by Brian K. Vaughan
(reviews coming soon)

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
Life After Life by Kate Atkinson
Remembrance by Meg Cabot (reviews coming soon)

 

Added and then read (um… huzzah?)
Outlander Kitchen: The Official Outlander Companion Cookbook by Theresa Carle-Sanders
How to Be Your Dog’s Best Friend:The Classic Training Manual for Dog Owners, Revised & Updated Edition by The Monks of New Skete (reviews coming soon)

 
 
Added to my TBR pile (all-around shame!)
Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehsi Coates We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
Rat Queens, Vol. 3: Demons by Kurtis J. Wiebe  
 
Non-TBR acquisitions (storage-space-related shame!)
Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman American Gods by Neil Gaiman
 
Added to my eTBR pile (non-storage-space-related shame!)
Siege & Storm by Leigh Bardugo Orange is the New Black: My Year in a Women’s Prison by Piper Kerman
* Pursuant to the discussion on this post, I’ve decided to create an eTBR pile for e-books and audiobooks that I accept for review or for which I actually pay money. I’m not adding them into my total TBR numbers, but I have to fess up about them somewhere. Keeps me honest.

© 2016 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2016 10:24 am

    Oh, I have heard good things about How to Be Your Dog’s Best Friend. I keep meaning to read it. I look forward to your review!

  2. August 19, 2016 7:46 pm

    After our last move, I PROMISED myself (and all my future movers) that I was going to read more of the books I owned. THEN we found this amazing book fair near us and I bought an embarrassing amount of books :/. Maybe next year??? I’m impressed with your success! :)

Leave a Reply

