Skip to content

Brian K. Vaughan – Saga, Vol. 5

January 21, 2016

Vaughan, Brian K - Saga Vol 5 - 40065. Saga, Volume 5 by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples (2015)
Saga, Volume 5

Read my review of:
1. Volume 1
2. Volume 2
3. Volume 3
4. Volume 4

Length: 152 pages
Genre: Science Fiction, Graphic Novel

Started/Finished: 17 October 2015

Where did it come from? The library.
Why do I have it? I’ve been enjoying the series, so I was excited about the new installment.

Summary: Dengo, a robot who has captured the Robot Prince’s baby, is holding Hazel, Alana, and Marko’s mom hostage, and selling them out to a group of revolutionaries who will go to any lengths to stop the war. Marko is with Prince Robot IV, tracking Dengo, and trying to come to grips with his own violent tendencies. Meanwhile, Sophie, Gwen, and The Brand are trying to track down an elusive ingredient that’s needed to cure The Will, but which may prove more deadly than helpful.

Review: I was less taken with this one than I was with previous installments. The emotional core of this series for me has always been Marko and Alanna, and their relationship with each other, so monologues about the sacrifices that come with parenthood just don’t do it for me. Watching the two of them fall apart is what made Vol. 4 so hard, and they’re apart for the bulk of this volume (their reunion is disappointingly brief, although I’m sure more is coming in Vol. 6), which meant that I didn’t get as involved in the rest of the story as I wanted to. What is involving: Sophie. Always Sophie. That poor kid breaks my heart. 4 out of 5 stars.

Recommendation: The series is great; don’t start here! This wasn’t my favorite installment, but the series as a whole is so cool and interesting and different from anything else I’m reading.

This Review on LibraryThing | This Book on LibraryThing | This Book on Amazon

Other Reviews: Couldn’t find any at Book Blogs Search Engine. Have you reviewed this book? Leave a comment with the link and I’ll add it in.

First Line: And finally … twenty-five.

© 2015 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 24, 2016 9:59 am

    I hope to catch up on this volume in the next few weeks, once I’ve cleared some of my current GN pile down a bit.

Leave a Reply

