Skip to content

Year in Review 2015

January 1, 2016

Happy 2016, readers! Hopefully everyone had a lovely and safe New Year’s Eve, and your 2016 is already off to a great start!

2015 was busier than I was expecting, and somehow not as much got done as I was hoping. I can’t even put my finger on why, exactly – this fall at least was supposed to be less busy than usual, but somehow wound up being more busy! I didn’t hit my reading goal (100 new books) for the year, not even close, and I had a few months were I didn’t read much at all. I also have gotten REALLY behind with blogging – I’ve got reviews from months ago that are still waiting to get done. I’m going to do my best to catch up in the next few weeks – Hopefully I’ll be able to hold to that. Some of those old reviews are going to be pretty short, though!

But enough with the negatives and things I didn’t do. The books I did read, while not as numerous as in previous years, were on the whole quite good, and provided a nice break whenever I could convince myself to take it! Let’s look at some stats, shall we?

  • I finished 101 books this year, 82 of which were new-to-me, and 19 of which were re-reads. 100 new books was my personal goal for the year (revised down to 85 in October when it became obvious I wasn’t going to hit 100), so I missed that out, even the revised one. But I did at least pass the 100-mark for total books, so that’s something?
  • 65 of those were paper or e-books, for a total of 18,877 pages read. The remaining 36 were audiobooks, with a total of 19.1 days of listening time. (Not included in either of those tallies are all the individual short stories I read and/or listened to.) If you count the text equivalent of the audiobooks, I consumed 33,353 pages of reading material this year.
  • I read books by 72 different authors, 50% of which were new to me. I didn’t do such a good job of balancing the sex ratio: excluding anthologies, only 43% percent of the books I read were by female authors. Do better next year, self!
  • I didn’t do a great job of reading my own books this year (new books, anyways, I re-read a bunch of my own books). Of the new books I read, only about 31% came from my TBR pile. Another 22% were audiobooks, 30% were graphic novels from the library, 10% were non-graphic-novel library books, and the remaining 7% were e-books freebies or from the eTBR “pile”.
  • I was pretty good about not acquiring new books! I requested relatively few review copies this year – also a function of the not having as much time for reading and reviewing – and the library booksale in my new town is only open a few times a year, and I missed the fall sale. The result that I only added 40 books to my TBR pile – which is the lowest its ever been since I’ve been keeping track. I read 23 books from the pile, though, and cleared another 68 (donating them to the library sale or selling them to a used bookstore – and then NOT purchasing them again, which is key!), leaving me with a net change of -51 TBR books! Not too shabby!
  • Of the books I read from my TBR pile, the average length of time between when I acquired them and when I finished them was 187.3 days. I didn’t read so many long-term TBR residents this year as in the past, but instead, I donated them!
  • Even though I was reading relatively fewer review copies, more than half of the new books I read were still published in 2014 or 2015 (63%); however, the average publication date of my books was 2008.
  • Unsurprisingly, about 40% half the books I read this year were fantasy; with sci-fi taking up another 20%, and non-fiction, historical fiction, classics, and contemporary fiction making up the rest (less historical fiction and more classics than normal, but not by a huge margin). Only about 25% of the books I read were young adult or mid-grade, which is less than normal for me.

You can calculate these kind of stats for yourself using my reading tracking spreadsheet. You can download the 2014 version here: 2014 reading tracking spreadsheet; just change the tabs for 2016. You can find the instructions for using it here: reading tracking spreadsheet instructions.

I’m not going to do a formal “best of” list for 2015, since I always have a really hard time getting my picks down to 5 or even 10 “best” books. Instead, here are my picks-of-the-month for the year! (Among my new books – picking books that I already loved enough to re-read as my favorite of the month just doesn’t seem fair.)

January
February
March
April
May
June
July

August
September
October
November
December

January: Legion: Skin Deep by Brandon Sanderson

February: Fairest by Marissa Meyer

March: Firefight by Brandon Sanderson

April: Sex Criminals, Vol. 1 by Matt Fraction (no contest; this was the only new book I read that month.)

May: A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki

June: The Martian by Andy Weir

July: Gulp: Adventures on the Alimentary Canal by Mary Roach

August: The End of All Things by John Scalzi

September: The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King

October: The Shepherd’s Crown by Terry Pratchett

November: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

December: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

What about you, readers? Read any good books last year?

© 2016 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2016 8:12 pm

    I love the stats you keep and really do want to do a better job at that. I read Fangirl a year or two ago and loved it.

  2. January 1, 2016 8:24 pm

    You read lots of good things this year! Hope 2016 is a good reading year. :)

  3. January 2, 2016 12:12 am

    I really like your stats and may need to check out your spreadsheet (thanks for sharing!) even though I had just decided NOT to track with a spreadsheet + goodreads this year. A good spreadsheet is hard to resist though….
    Gulp was also one of my favorite reads of the year! I love Mary Roach and Gulp was my favorite since her first book Stiff. Who knew the digestive system was so fascinating?!
    Happy reading in 2016!

  4. January 2, 2016 1:11 pm

    101 books is nothing to sneeze at! I’m looking forward to seeing your thoughts on Carry On. Also, Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

