Skip to content

December 2015 Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews

January 1, 2016

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started December with 226 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* …195! End of the semester doesn’t always mean great things for my reading, but I managed to plow through a few books over the holidays. I also took a second big box of ex-TBR books in to the used book store, so my TBR is under 200 for the first time in a LOOOONG time. Like, October of 2008 long time. I know I was terrible about blogging, but I’m really hoping I can catch up on some of my outstanding reviews in the next few weeks.

…anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell
Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Read But Not Owned (Books)
My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories ed. by Stephanie Perkins
Carry On by Rainbow Rowell (review coming soon)

E-Books
Penric’s Demon by Lois McMaster Bujold (review coming soon)

Re-Reads
Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
Magic Under Glass by Jaclyn Dolamore (review coming soon)

 

Other removals from the TBR pile (um… huzzah?)
– I finished my TBR purge that I started in November. I’m not going to list all of them here, but you can find them on my TBR page, and there were 38 of them. Good job me!

 
TBR additions picture is coming soon – my Media Mail box of holiday books is still in transit so I have to wait to get them all in the photo!
 
Added to my TBR pile (all-around shame!)
The Invention of Nature: Alexander von Humboldt’s New World by Andrea Wulf The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals by Michael Pollan
Shadows of Self by Brandon Sanderson A Companion to Wolves by Elizabeth Bear and Sarah Monette
The Thing with Feathers: The Surprising Lives of Birds and What They Reveal About Being Human by Noah Stryker A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan
Spellwright by Blake Charlton

The Tropic of Serpents by Marie Brennan

 
Non-TBR acquisitions (storage-space-related shame!)
Molecular Gastronomy: An Introduction to the Science Behind 40 Spectacular Recipes by Molecule-R The Outlandish Companion, Vol. 1 by Diana Gabaldon
The Wheel of Time Companion by Robert Jordan The Outlandish Companion, Vol. 2 by Diana Gabaldon
The Shadow in the North by Phillip Pullman  
 

© 2016 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

