Skip to content

October 2015 Monthly Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews

November 1, 2015

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started October with 253 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* …253! Not too shabby. I didn’t manage to get as much reviewed as I wanted, but I did get to read quite a bit, considering that I spent two long weekends travelling – some reading got done on planes, but not much in between. And I’ve ALSO identified a bunch of books to cull from my TBR pile, and even put them in boxes… but I haven’t gotten the boxes out of the house yet, so technically I still have 253.

…anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times by Jennifer Worth
The Shepherd’s Crown by Terry Pratchett
The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman

Read But Not Owned (Graphic Novels)
Saga, Vol. 5 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage by Sydney Padua

E-Books
Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith and Jane Austen
Sourcery by Terry Pratchett

Re-Reads
Lord of Chaos by Robert Jordan

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
The Tide Watchers by Lisa Chaplin

 

Added and then read (um… huzzah?)
Humans of New York: Stories by Brandon Stanton

 

Other removals from the TBR pile (um… huzzah?)
Gatsby’s Girl by Caroline Preston
Celtic Lore: The History of the Druids and Their Timeless Traditions by Ward Rutherford (both given to friends who will hopefuly enjoy them!)

 
 
Added to my TBR pile (all-around shame!)
Saints Astray by Jacqueline Carey The Wicked and the Divine, Vol. 1: The Faust Act by Kieron Gillan
Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman  
 
Non-TBR acquisitions (storage-space-related shame!)
Specials by Scott Westerfeld River of Stars by Guy Gavriel Kay
 
Added to my eTBR pile (non-storage-space-related shame!)
Timebound by Rysa Walker Newt’s Emerald: Magic, Maids, and Masquerades by Garth Nix
Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch * Pursuant to the discussion on this post, I’ve decided to create an eTBR pile for e-books and audiobooks that I accept for review or for which I actually pay money. I’m not adding them into my total TBR numbers, but I have to fess up about them somewhere. Keeps me honest.
 

© 2015 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

