Skip to content

July 2015 Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews

August 1, 2015

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started July with 255 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* …255! I didn’t make a dent in the TBR pile, but I didn’t do any damage to it either, AND I’ve pulled a big stack of books (~70!) from the TBR pile that I think I’m ready to admit that I’m not going to get to… I just haven’t pulled the trigger and gotten rid of them yet. Reading-wise, July was pretty great, especially compared to earlier this year! The first part of July was busy, but the past few weeks have involved vacation, sitting on the beach (and reading), sitting on my couch (and reading), cooking (and reading), and trying to catch up on my massive, massive review backlog. (It’s down from 22 books to 15, and I’m through May and into June!) The next few weeks before school starts again should also be relatively free, so I’ve got to cram as much reading (and reviewing!) in as I can before the craziness of September starts.

…anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
To Hold the Bridge by Garth Nix
The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin
Gulp: Adventures on the Alimentary Canal by Mary Roach

Read But Not Owned (Graphic Novels)
Sex Criminals Vol. 2: Two Worlds, One Cop by Matt Fraction & Chip Zdarsky
Curses! Foiled Again by Jane Yolen
Chicken with Plums by Marjane Satrapi

E-Books
Belle: The Slave Daughter and the Lord Chief Justice by Paula Byrne

Re-Reads
The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul by Douglas Adams

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
The Discworld Graphic Novels: The Color of Magic & The Light Fantastic by Terry Pratchett
Mélusine by Sarah Monette
In a French Kitchen: Tales and Traditions of Everyday Home Cooking in France by Susan Herrmann Loomis
The Tutor by Andrea Chapin

 
 
Added to my TBR pile (all-around shame!)
Washington’s Spies: The Story of America’s First Spy Ring by Alexander Rose The Tide Watchers by Lisa Chaplin
Across a Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
 
Added to my eTBR pile* (non-storage-space-related shame!)
The Iron King by Julie Kagawa Rebel Queen by Michelle Moran
 

* Pursuant to the discussion on this post, I’ve decided to create an eTBR pile for e-books and a TBL pile for audiobooks for which I actually pay money. I’m not adding them into my total TBR numbers, but I have to fess up about them somewhere. Keeps me honest.

© 2015 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2015 3:46 pm

    Hey, I’d consider it a success if my numbers didn’t increase.

Leave a Reply

