Skip to content

Year in Review 2014

January 2, 2015

Happy 2015, readers! Hopefully everyone had a lovely and safe New Year’s Eve, and that your 2015 is off to a great start!

2014 was busier than I was expecting, and somehow not as much got done as I was hoping. I can’t even put my finger on why, exactly, but things just sort of seem to pile up! I decided that I was going to be better about reading what I was in the mood for, rather than what I thought I *should* be reading (with the exception of my book club picks, which sometimes coincided with the former, but sometimes belonged more to the latter category.) The end result of this is that a lot of my reading time went to re-reads rather than clearing my TBR shelf… but I certainly enjoyed myself! I managed to stay ahead of reading goal starting in the spring and lasting until mid-December (finals time!), but a New Year’s Eve sprint got me up to my goal with a whole six hours to spare!

  • I finished 132 books this year, 100 of which were new-to-me, and 32 of which were re-reads. 100 new books was my personal goal for the year, so I just eeked that out. But my goal for total books was 124, so I totally crushed that..
  • 92 of those were paper or e-books, for a total of 27,709 pages read. The remaining 40 were audiobooks, with a total of 19.7 days of listening time. (Not included in either of those tallies are all the individual short stories I read and/or listened to.) If you count the text equivalent of the audiobooks, I consumed 43,550 pages of reading material this year.
  • I read books by 88 different authors, 43 of which were new to me. I also a good job of balancing the sex ratio: excluding anthologies, 52% percent of the books I read were by female authors. (Better than my 49% last year, hooray!)
  • I didn’t do a great job of reading my own books this year (new books, anyways, I re-read a bunch of my own books). Of the new books I read, only about 37% came from my TBR pile. Another 18% were audiobooks, 30% were graphic novels from the library, 14% were non-graphic-novel library books, and the remaining 3% were e-books freebies or from the eTBR “pile”.
  • I was pretty good about not acquiring new books! I requested relatively few review copies this year – also a function of the not having as much time for reading and reviewing – and the library booksale in my new town is only open a few times a year, rather than three days a week… so I had a few binges but relatively fewer books coming in on an average day. The result that I only added 46 books to my TBR pile – which is pretty awesome, I think, given some of my past years. I read 32 books from the pile, though, and cleared another 27 (donating them to the library sale – and then NOT purchasing them again, which is key!), leaving me with a net change of -13 TBR books! Not too shabby!
  • Of the books I read from my TBR pile, the average length of time between when I acquired them and when I finished them was 471 days. I’ve got books on my TBR pile that have been there an embarrassingly long time, but I’m doing my best to work through them.
  • Perhaps as a function of reading relatively fewer review copies, less than half of the new books I read were published in 2013 or 2014 (still 40%, though); however, the average publication date of my books was 2007.
  • Unsurprisingly, almost exactly half the books I read this year were fantasy; with sci-fi taking up another 20%, and non-fiction, historical fiction, and contemporary fiction making up the rest. About 42% of the books I read were young adult or mid-grade, which is a slight uptick from years past.

You can calculate these kind of stats for yourself using my reading tracking spreadsheet. You can download the 2014 version here: 2014 reading tracking spreadsheet; just change the tabs for 2015. You can find the instructions for using it here: reading tracking spreadsheet instructions.

I’m not going to do a formal “best of” list for 2014, since I always have a really hard time getting my picks down to 5 or even 10 “best” books. Instead, here are my picks-of-the-month for the year! (Among my new books – picking books that I already loved enough to re-read as my favorite of the month just doesn’t seem fair.)

January
February
March
April
May
June
July

August
September
October
November
December

(kind of a beige year, apparently!)

January: The Warded Man by Peter V. Brett

February: Castle Waiting, Vol. 1 by Linda Medley

March: Heads in Beds by Jacob Tomsky

April: It’s a tie! The Tragedy of Arthur by Arthur Phillips and Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

May: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

June: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

July: Too many awesome books this month to pick only one! (Or two. Or three!) Among Others by Jo Walton; Invisible Beasts by Sharona Muir; The Boleyn Reckoning by Laura Andersen; Redshirts by John Scalzi

August: Rust, Vol. 3: Death of the Rocket Boy by Royden Lepp

September: Cress by Marissa Meyer

October: Written in My Own Heart’s Blood by Diana Gabaldon

November: Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

December: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

 

What about you, readers? Read any good books last year?

© 2015 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2015 8:51 am

    I always start out the year doing your spreadsheet and then fizzle… :( I guess I will try again this year!

  2. January 2, 2015 9:57 am

    I love how you put this all together. I’m going to try the spreadsheet in the new year too.

  3. January 2, 2015 1:59 pm

    It sounds like you had a great year in books!

  4. January 2, 2015 3:19 pm

    Looks like you had a cracking year! My stats keeping has been terrible the last couple of years, I’m hoping to do better this year!

  5. January 4, 2015 6:45 pm

    I keep forgetting about Ready Player One. I’ll have to put that book on my list of books to be read.

  6. January 4, 2015 6:49 pm

    Happy New Year! Annual shout out to your reading spreadsheet, which is the best in the world. I finally am organized enough to track 2014 and 2015 on the same spreadsheet. I’ve had too many different computers in the past few years and I’ve lost my spreadsheet many times. Sadly! I loved Attachments, too. It’s still my favorite book by Rainbow Rowell. It seems like you had a spectacular reading year. Here’s to another in 2015!

Leave a Reply

