Skip to content

November 2014 Monthly Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews

December 1, 2014

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started November with 244 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* …245! Ah, November. I was done with the busiest part of my semester in October, so my hope was that I could have a little free time in November to do some more reading. And to some extent that was true, but to a large extent I spent a lot of that time catching up on other (non-reading) things that I had let slide during October. Plus I had family in town for Thanksgiving, which was wonderful, but limited the amount of reading I was able to get done. Maybe December? It’ll crazy-busy with the end of the semester, and the holidays, and prepping for next semester, but I will at least have some travel time, and hopefully at least a little more downtime to curl up with a book or three!

…anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Read But Not Owned (Books)
Wild Rover No More: Being the Last Recorded Account of the Life & Times of Jacky Faber by L. A. Meyer

Re-Reads
Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi
Dr. Mütter’s Marvels: A True Tale of Intrigue and Innovation at the Dawn of Modern Medicine by Cristin O’Keefe Aptowicz
The Ghost Bride by Yangsze Choo

 
 
Added to my TBR pile (all-around shame!)
Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn The Kitchen Counter Cooking School: How a Few Simple Lessons Transformed Nine Culinary Novices into Fearless Home Cooks by Kathleen Flinn
The Pierced Heart by Lynn Shepherd The Woman Who Would Be King: Hatshepsut’s Rise to Power in Ancient Egypt by Kara Cooney
 
Added to my eTBR pile (non-storage-space-related shame!)
Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters by Ben H. Winters
* Pursuant to the discussion on this post, I’ve decided to create an eTBR pile for e-books for which I actually pay money. I’m not adding them into my total TBR numbers, but I have to fess up about them somewhere. Keeps me honest.
 

© 2014 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 3, 2014 7:00 am

    Snow Like Ashes looks interesting. I will look for your review :)

Leave a Reply

