Skip to content

Eoin Colfer – The Last Guardian

September 25, 2013

73. The Last Guardian by Eoin Colfer (2012)
Artemis Fowl, Book 8

Read my review of book:
1. Artemis Fowl
2. The Arctic Incident
3. The Eternity Code
4. The Opal Deception
5. The Lost Colony
6. The Time Paradox
7. The Atlantis Complex

Read By: Nathaniel Parker
Length: 7h 39min (336 pages)

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Started: 06 September 2013
Finished: 11 September 2013

Where did it come from? The library.
Why do I have it? The Artemis Fowl books have been reliably fun listens.

Opal frees herself
from jail, and Artemis must
save the world once more.

Summary: Artemis Fowl knew that he hadn’t heard the last of his arch-nemesis, pixie Opal Koboi. So when the current Opal (who’s held in a maximum security fairy prison) arranges to have a past version of herself (who is in the present after following Artemis through a time tunnel from the past) kidnapped and assassinated, Artemis knows that things are going to get bad in a hurry. By destroying her own past self, Opal causes a paradox that destroys all technology created by Koboi Laboratories in the past few years. But she’s got bigger schemes than just throwing the fairy and human worlds into chaos… it’s all part of a grand plan to wipe humanity off the face of the planet – starting with Artemis’s family. And once again, it’s only Artemis, along with the help of Holly, Butler, Mulch, and Foaly, who will have any chance of foiling Opal’s plans before it’s too late.

Review: I’ve had a lot of fun with this series. They’re fast-paced, action-packed, and funny, but they’re also smart and don’t talk down to their audience, which makes them better crossover reads than a lot of other mid-grade fantasy adventure stories out there. So, I’ve really enjoyed listening to them over the past few years, but I also absolutely see why Colfer chose to end the series where he did.

The series as a whole has a nice arc to it, and the characters do grow and change and mature over the course of the series. That’s nice to read, and it gives the stories a certain emotional core that they would otherwise lack. However, I have to admit, Artemis the cocky, self-absorbed, mostly conscienceless genius criminal mastermind of the first book or two was kind of more fun than Artemis the thoughtful, selfless, world-saving genius mastermind. And Colfer knew that (I’d bet bratty Artemis was also more fun to write), and so he brought the series to a solid conclusion here. This book was all of the things that I’ve liked about the other books – fast paced, action packed, funny, clever, good twists and turns that I didn’t always see coming – and it also served as a fitting way to wrap up the series as a whole, and put a satisfying narrative cap on everything that’s come before. 4 out of 5 stars.

Recommendation: Definitely don’t start here, but the series is a solidly, reliably fun read that’s recommended for mid-graders on up through adults that need something fun and lighthearted every once in a while.

This Review on LibraryThing | This Book on LibraryThing | This Book on Amazon

Other Reviews: Bookworms and Tea Leaves
Have you reviewed this book? Leave a comment with the link and I’ll add it in.

First Line: The Berserkers lay arranged in a spiral under the rune stone, looping down, down into the earth – boots out, heads in as the spell demanded.

© 2013 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: