Skip to content

July 2013 Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews

August 1, 2013

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started July with 247 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* …246! Not too bad, considering that two of the three books I cleared off my TBR were massive chunksters. (Both of which I started in June, technically. *shhhh*) For teaching again, I think I did pretty good at getting some reading done this month, even if I didn’t clear quite as much as I would have liked. Still, some negative numbers are better than no negative numbers, I guess. I’ll try to do better in August, when I might have at least a little down time that I can sneak some reading in. Let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
The Serpent’s Shadow by Rick Riordan
The Kid: What Happened After My Boyfriend and I Decided To Go Get Pregnant: An Adoption Story by Dan Savage

Read But Not Owned (Books)
Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger
Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

E-Books
The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente

Re-Reads
Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
A Memory of Light by Robert Jordan & Brandon Sanderson
The Talisman by Stephen King and Peter Straub
Q by Evan Mandery

Added and then read (um… huzzah?)
Page by Paige by Laura Lee Gulledge (Technically this was a Read but not Owned but then Rapidly Acquired when I realized that Amazon had the paperbacks for four bucks.)

 
 
Added to my TBR pile (all-around shame!)
A Fatal Likeness by Lynn Shepherd Hounded by Kevin Hearne
 
Added to my eTBR pile (non-storage-space-related shame!)
Boneshaker by Cherie Priest Spin by Robert Charles Wilson
The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle The Poison Eaters by Holly Black
Machine of Death ed. by Ryan North Just a Geek by Wil Wheaton
Wool Omnibus by Hugh Howey * Pursuant to the discussion on this post, I’ve decided to create an eTBR pile for e-books for which I actually pay money. I’m not adding them into my total TBR numbers, but I have to fess up about them somewhere. Keeps me honest.
 

© 2013 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2013 2:54 pm

    Hounded! That reminds me– I need to continue onward in that series. (And possibly reread Hounded, because it’s been a few years since I first read it. Uh.)

  2. August 1, 2013 7:47 pm

    Yay great job on your TBR pile – everytime it goes down is a win :-)

Leave a Reply

