Skip to content

June 2013 Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews

July 2, 2013

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started June with 244 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* …247! June involved a *lot* of travelling for me – I think I was home for maybe 11 of the 30 days? – and despite my best intentions I never get a lot of reading done when I’m travelling… there’s always hikes to go on or castles to see or sunsets to photograph or wedding receptions to dance at. Plus, it probably didn’t help my totals that I’m currently in the middle of not one but two 750+ page chunksters that got started but not finished in June. July’s going to be busier work-wise than June was, but the travelling’s done, so hopefully I’ll have some time to finish a few books!

…anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan
The Atlantis Complex by Eoin Colfer

Read But Not Owned (Graphic Novels)
Morning Glories, Vol. 4: Truants by Nick Spencer and Joe Eisma
Peanut by Ayun Halliday and Paul Hoppe

Re-Reads
Ethan of Athos by Lois McMaster Bujold
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J. K. Rowling

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
Between Man and Beast: A Tale of Exploration & Evolution by Monte Reel
Impossible Things by Connie Willis

 
Added to my TBR pile (all-around shame!)
Love Among the Particles by Norman Lock Q by Evan J. Mandery
The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman The Keeper of Secrets by Julie Thomas
Leonardo’s Foot: How 10 Toes, 52 Bones, and 66 Muscles Shaped the Human World by Carol Ann Rinzler  
 

© 2013 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2013 3:10 pm

    Yay, Lois McMaster Bujold! I really need to continue on in the Vorkosigan series– I got stalled at book…9? I think? And that was MONTHS ago.

    • July 2, 2013 3:46 pm

      Ooooh, yeah you do! I’m not sure exactly how you’re doing your numbering, but I think that means you have Mirror Dance and A Civil Campaign still coming up, and those are my two favorites! (Okay, two of my three favorites – I *heart* Cordelia.)

      • July 2, 2013 4:10 pm

        I’m going in whatever order the omnibuses go in (since that’s what I have), so I have no idea! Roughly internal chronological, I guess? The last one I read was Brothers in Arms so I guess that means Mirror Dance is up next! Yay!

      • July 2, 2013 11:07 pm

        Yay! And then next is Memory (which isn’t in any omnibuses, so you might not have it?) and then Miles in Love, which contains A Civil Campaign and is just awesome.

  2. July 16, 2013 2:40 pm

    I don’t have Memory! And I don’t think I can skip it because it’s a pretty important book, right? So I’m just gonna buy it. :D

    • July 16, 2013 4:55 pm

      It is pretty important, yes, especially as a transitional novel, in terms of setting up Miles for where he goes next.

Leave a Reply

