Skip to content

Spring Read-a-thon ’13: The Big, Fancy, Frequently-Updated Post!

April 26, 2013
tags:

Read-a-thon, hooray! I’ve been insanely busy this year, and have read what feels like practically nothing all semester. But this readathon is perfectly timed – now’s my time to take a break, to catch up, to read for fun. I’ve got graphic novels from the library, leftovers for lunch and dinner, and I even remembered to get readathon snacks at the grocery store. It may have been a while, but I do remember how to do this readathon thing!

I’ll be sticking with my one-post format that has worked so well for previous read-a-thons. (Now 95% less feed-reader-filling!) I’ll update it hourly (give or take), and keep my running totals at the bottom. Let’s get this nerdfest on the road!
________________________

Hour Zero – 7:55 am

Woke up way earlier than I should have if I want to have a prayer of staying up tonight (especially considering how much sleep I’ve gotten in the past few days) (or how little), but at least it gave me time to start a load of laundry and make some tea and breakfast (yogurt and granola and berries).

I’m in the middle of The Drunken Botanist by Amy Stewart, but it’s not really the type of book that can (or should) be read straight through. I think I’m going to start with a novel – A Murder for Her Majesty by Beth Hilgartner.
________________________

Hour One: 8-9 am

Time spent reading this hour: 0:46
Pages read this hour: 100
What book(s): A Murder for Her Majesty by Beth Hilgartner
Thoughts: This was a good book to start off with – it’s fun, easy historical fiction with a setting I haven’t read much about, written at a mid-grade level so it’s very quick reading (see: 100 pages in 46 minutes). There are some anachronisms to be sure, but I’m enjoying it. Going to go flip my laundry and then dive back in!
_________________________

Hour Two: 9-10 am

Time spent reading this hour: 0:33
Pages read this hour: 98
What book(s): A Murder for Her Majesty
Thoughts: I got distracted by some work e-mail for the first part of the hour – something I swore I wasn’t going to do today, but this one couldn’t be ignored. But I made good progress on my book anyways, and will probably finish it before much longer. Don’t know what I’m going to pick up next…
_________________________

Hour Three: 10-11 am

Time spent reading this hour: 0:29
Pages read this hour: 64
What book(s): A Murder for Her Majesty and The Drunken Botanist
Thoughts: Finished my first book, and was indecisive about what to pick up next, so I went for a bit of non-fiction. The Drunken Botanist is organized into really short 1-2 page entries, so it’s easy to pick up and put down again. I think I’m going to start The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson in this next hour, even though it’s a library book and I really should be reading from my own TBR pile. But I’ll see how it goes, and then maybe take a break for lunch, and to finally put my contacts in.
_________________________

Hour Four: 11 am-12 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:42
Pages read this hour: 78
What book(s): The Madness Beneath by Maureen Johnson
Thoughts: I decided that TBR pile be damned, I’m going to read my library book! And I’m enjoying it so far, even though I read The Name of the Star long enough ago that the details have pretty much vanished from my mind. (Luckily, she provides a quick but effective in-text summary, so I think I’m mostly caught up.) I started getting dozy towards the end of the hour, so I’m going to take a break, get dressed, and eat lunch… and probably listen to a short-story podcast or two while I’m at it.
_________________________

Hour Five: 12-1 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:00
Time spent reading this hour: 0:41
Pages read this hour: ??
What book(s): Two short stories: “Herding Vegetable Sheep” by Ekaterina Sedia and “The Second Gift Given” by Ken Scholes.
Thoughts: Good hour! I’m dressed, contacts in, lunch heated up (leftover Mediterranean pasta from last night). The first story was good, a nice little mini-dystopia in 20 minutes. The second story is… strange. It’s kind of trippy, hard to get my bearings, and there’s a tone to the depiction of the one female character that I’m not really comfortable with. Going to finish it while I eat my lunch, then back to The Madness Underneath.
_________________________

Hour Six: 1-2 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:44
Time spent listening this hour: 0:14
Pages read this hour: 80
What book(s): Finished “The Second Gift Given” and read The Madness Underneath
Thoughts: The first part of the book was mostly “Rory gets used to dealing with real life again”, but now I’m to the part where the plot is starting to pick up steam. I should take a break and go for a walk or answer another work e-mail (even though I swore I wouldn’t), but nuts to that. MORE READING!
_________________________

Hour Seven: 2-3 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:43
Pages read this hour: 92
What book(s): The Madness Underneath
Thoughts: Can’t type! Must keep reading! Although I will say that while Rory is not particularly brainy, neither is she dumb, and yet she’s doing the “I have absolutely no qualms at all about this extremely suspicious and qualm-inducing situation.” thing that characters do that drives me bonkers.
_________________________

Hour Eight: 3-4 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:20
Pages read this hour: 40
What book(s): The Madness Underneath
Thoughts: I finished my book and then talked to my parents and did some of that pesky work stuff. I wasn’t as in love with this book as I was with The Name of the Star – it had a good part in the middle but a lot of the plot was kind of all over the place, more of a set-up for the next book than a proper story arc in its own right. Not sure what to pick up next (when am I, eh?), so I might read a little more of The Drunken Botanist until I decide.
_________________________

Hour Nine: 4-5 pm

Thoughts: Ugh, nothing read or listened to. Got sucked into work stuff all hour. But I got it done, so now I can go back to reading!
_________________________

Hour Ten: 5-6 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:44
Pages read this hour: 181
What book(s): The Thief of Always by Clive Barker
Thoughts: This book is reading crazily fast. I mean, it’s got illustrations, and is a mid-grade book, but still, crazy fast. It’s sort of half creepy and half cute, though. Reminds me a little of Ray Bradbury’s The Halloween Tree, although I can’t quite put my finger on why. I’m pretty close to the end, but I think I’m going to make dinner (tacos!) instead of plowing through, since I have somewhere to be at 7:30…
_________________________

Hour Eleven: 6-7 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:11
Time spent listening this hour: 0:16
Pages read this hour: 9
What book(s): The Drunken Botanist and “The Small Door” by Holly Phillips
Thoughts: Going to call this one a bit early so I can make it out the door on time. I’ll be back and reading around 9ish.
_________________________

Hour Fourteen: 9-10 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:22
Time spent listening this hour: 0:33
Pages read this hour: 87
What book(s): The Thief of Always and “The Small Door”
Thoughts: Had a good break, a chance to get out and be social. Then came back, finished my book, and listened to the rest of my short story in the car. I’m not sleepy yet, although I think I still might switch to graphic novels.
_________________________

Hour Fifteen: 10-11 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:42
Pages read this hour: 192
What book(s): Fables, Vol. 18: Cubs in Toyland
Thoughts: Tore through a graphic novel. I’m feeling not entirely awesome, though, so I think I might call it a night sooner rather than later. I haven’t done as much readathoning as I had hoped, but I’ve still read more today than in the past few weeks, and I’m finally, finally back on track with my yearly goal.
_________________________

Total time spent reading: 6:18
Total time spent listening: 1:45
Total # of pages read: 1021
Total # of books finished: 4 (A Murder for Her Majesty, The Madness Underneath, The Thief of Always, Fables, Vol. 18: Cubs in Toyland), plus three short story podcasts.
Total # of books read but not finished: 1 (The Drunken Botanist)

© 2013 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2013 10:32 am

    Sounds fun so far! I love seeing the “good-for-readathon” books everyone is choosing.

  2. April 27, 2013 3:21 pm

    You are rockin’ it so far!

  3. April 27, 2013 3:36 pm

    You’re doing great. Enjoy the read!

  4. April 27, 2013 6:44 pm

    Great updates! I finished The Madness Underneath a few weeks ago and felt much the same way. It didn’t really feel like a proper story in its own right. Happy reading!

  5. April 28, 2013 2:53 pm

    Just wanted to check in again to say congratulations on a great readathon! And so nice that you’re back on track with your yearly goal!

  6. April 28, 2013 5:53 pm

    I’ve been meaning to read The Name of the Star for a long time, but I didn’t realize it’s been so long that the sequel is already out. Congratulations on getting back into the swing of things!

  7. April 30, 2013 4:03 pm

    That’s awesome! I’m terrifically impressed. (And still giggling about the ramifications of reading a book about drunkenness straight through…although as I know nothing about the book I realize that my giggling is quite likely inappropriate and the ramifications wholly imagined.) Congrats on all your reading!

Leave a Reply

