Skip to content

Shannon & Dean Hale – Rapunzel’s Revenge

December 21, 2012

135. Rapunzel’s Revenge by Shannon Hale & Dean Hale, illustrated by Nathan Hale (2008)

Length: 144 pages
Genre: Graphic Novel, Young Adult, Fantasy, Western

Started/Finished: 02 December 2012

Where did it come from? The library.
Why do I have it? I recognized Hale’s name, and needed some light graphic novels.

Who needs a lasso
when you’ve got an enormous
braid of bright red hair?

Summary: Rapunzel’s mother, the feared Mother Gothel, controls powerful growth magic, but has turned the countryside surrounding their fortress into a barren waste of mines and ramshackle towns. When Rapunzel angers Mother Gothel, she’s imprisoned in a giant tree, and left there to grow up. When she finally escapes the tree (with no help from any handsome princes, but with some fine lassoing skills and a magical braid of hair), she falls in with a young troublemaker named Jack and his pet goose. They plan to travel back to Mother Gothel’s land, and save Rapunzel’s real mother from the mine camps, but there are plenty of adventures waiting along the way.

Review: We all know I love fairy tales of all flavors, and while I wouldn’t classify myself as a fan of Westerns per se, I definitely do enjoy the occasional story with a Western-like feeling to it. I’m also partial to stories where the princess rescues herself, and books with a good sense of humor. On all of those counts, Rapunzel’s Revenge was a lot of fun to read. It’s not a fairy tale that I’ve seen retold all that often, and it fits into a Old West setting surprisingly well. It’s fast paced, with plenty of action (despite a somewhat slow beginning), and a strong female lead. It had some sweet moments and some funny ones, and although I usually like my humor a little snarkier, I can see how the milder, sillier laughs were aiming at the younger set. The artwork matched the tone of the book well, colorful and active. Ultimately, while I don’t think this book is going to leave a lasting impression on me, it was definitely a fun and lighthearted way to spend an hour or so. 4 out of 5 stars.

Recommendation: Fairy-tale fans of all ages should find something to enjoy here.

This Review on LibraryThing | This Book on LibraryThing | This Book on Amazon

Other Reviews: Bart’s Bookshelf, Becky’s Book Reviews, The Broke and the Bookish, and more at the Book Blogs Search Engine.
Have you reviewed this book? Leave a comment with the link and I’ll add it in.

First Line: Once upon a time, there was a beautiful little girl.

© 2012 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2012 11:28 am

    I thought this was a lot of fun and look forward to more adventures!

  2. December 23, 2012 8:44 pm

    Hair as a lasso…oh, that’s a must-read!

    • December 24, 2012 4:53 pm

      Cheryl – And lasso *and* a whip (a la Indiana Jones)!

  3. December 26, 2012 5:15 pm

    I thought both the books I read in this series were a lot of fun. :)

    • January 25, 2013 2:05 pm

      Darren – I guess I didn’t realize the sequel was out already! I’ll have to see if my library has it.

Trackbacks

  1. Rapunzel’s Revenge | Tales of the Marvelous
  2. Rapunzel’s Revenge & Calamity Jack | Iris on Books

Leave a Reply

