Skip to content

October 2012 Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews

November 2, 2012

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started October with 252 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* …252! Not too bad! No progress, but holding steady’s progress in and of itself. I didn’t read a ton this month – almost half my books were read during the readathon – but I’m doing my best to get out of this reading slump.

…anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
Down the Mysterly River by Bill Willingham
Legion by Brandon Sanderson
Dodger by Terry Pratchett

Read But Not Owned (Books)
The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan

Read But Not Owned (Graphic Novels)
The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle & Peter B. Gillis
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 9, Vol. 1: Freefall by Joss Whedon
Locke & Key, Vol. 2: Head Games by Joe Hill

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
Kushiel’s Avatar by Jacqueline Carey
Plain Kate by Erin Bow
Gentlemen of the Road by Michael Chabon
Epic: Legends of Fantasy ed. by John Joseph Adams

 

Added and then read (um… huzzah?)
100 Diagrams that Changed the World: From the Earliest Cave Paintings to the Innovation of the iPod by Scott Christianson

 
 
Added to my TBR pile (all-around shame!)
– Pyg: The Memoirs of Toby, the Learned Pig by Russell Potter – The Invention of Air: A Story of Science, Faith, Revolution, and the Birth of America by Stephen Johnson
– Be My Enemy by Ian McDonald – Unfamiliar Fishes by Sarah Vowell
 
Non-TBR acquisitions (storage-space-related shame!)
– Count Karlstein by Philip Pullman – POD by Stephen Wallenfels
 
Added to my eTBR pile (non-storage-space-related shame!)
* Pursuant to the discussion on this post, I’ve decided to create an eTBR pile for e-books for which I actually pay money. I’m not adding them into my total TBR numbers, but I have to fess up about them somewhere. Keeps me honest.
– Hide Me Among the Graves by Tim Powers – Ghosts by Gaslight ed. by Jack Dann & Nick Gevers

© 2012 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2012 12:48 pm

    I love this post! So much book guilt! :-) I think I need to create an eTBR pile too, I kind of ignore all the books I download spontaneously…

    • November 19, 2012 8:34 am

      Joanna – I don’t count the various ebook freebies I download – that would take forever! – but the ones that I actually pay for seem to count more.

  2. November 7, 2012 11:53 am

    I was in a reading slump for two months! I am reading graphic novels at the moment to try and break me out of it… Hopefully you can kick yours!

    • November 19, 2012 8:35 am

      Kailana – Sounds like a plan… I’ve got a big stack of GNs from the library, now to find time to actually sit down and read any of them!

Leave a Reply

