Skip to content

July 2012 Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews

August 3, 2012

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started July with 253 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* …251! I have been a raging stress-ball this month (these past few months, really), which usually means that I super-distractible, which usually means that I read: a) stuff that is familiar (re-reads); b) stuff that is easy (graphic novels and kids books); and c) less. (It also means that I am even worse than usual about keeping on top of blogging stuff like commenting and replying to comments and e-mails. Sorry!) Even so, I managed to get through a decent number of books this month, even if not as many of them were from the TBR pile as I might have liked. But still, a -2 for the month is a cause for celebration!

…anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
Insurgent by Veronica Roth
METAtropolis: Cascadia ed. by Jay Lake
Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins

Read But Not Owned (Books)
The Kingdom of Gods by N. K. Jemisin
The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan
The Borgia Mistress by Sara Poole

Read But Not Owned (Graphic Novels)
Glacial Period by Nicolas de Crécy
The Last Dragon by Jane Yolen & Rebecca Guay (reviews
Morning Glories, Vol. 3: P.E. by Nick Spencer
Chew, Vol. 5: Major League Chew by John Layman & Rob Guillory

Re-Reads
The Curse of Chalion by Lois McMaster Bujold

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
The Tide of War by Seth Hunter
The Botany of Desire: A Plant’s-Eye View of the World by Michael Pollan
The Fourth Bear by Jasper Fforde

 
 
Added to my TBR pile (all-around shame!)
Silence of the Songbirds by Bridget Stutchbury

Non-TBR acquisitions (storage-space-related shame!)
The Silent Gondoliers by William Goldman

 
Added to my eTBR pile (non-storage-space-related shame!)
The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson * Pursuant to the discussion on this post, I’ve decided to create an eTBR pile for e-books for which I actually pay money. I’m not adding them into my total TBR numbers, but I have to fess up about them somewhere. Keeps me honest.
 

© 2012 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2012 8:39 am

    I’m so impressed that you reduced your TBR pile – wanna come work on mine?

    • August 9, 2012 9:35 am

      Kathy – Hee, tempting, but I’m winning the battle against my own by so slim of a margin that it’s probably better not to tempt fate. :)

  2. August 4, 2012 5:01 pm

    I think listing and organizing them the way you do on your blog should give you some credit to be used towards the pile and give you a bigger net result than -2.

    • August 9, 2012 9:36 am

      Laurie – I think that the credit’s already applied… if I didn’t have to fess up about my numbers, there’d be nothing stopping me from acquiring tons more books than I already do!

  3. August 13, 2012 5:34 pm

    I look forward to your thoughts on The Girl of Fire and Thorns. I liked it and am looking forward to the sequel.

    • August 16, 2012 4:15 pm

      Kailana – I’ve just started it pretty recently, so not very far in yet, but it’s interesting so far! Took me a bit to get used to the Spanish/Central American flavor to it… not something I’ve come across much in fantasy!

Leave a Reply

