Skip to content

January 2012 Monthly Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews

February 1, 2012

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started January with 269 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* …270! January was kind of a terrible reading month for me; there were two weeks in the middle when I read practically nothing, because I was thoroughly stressed out with real-life stuff and had neither the time nor the attention span to read anything more than a few pages at a time. Still, a +1 TBR for the month is not a terrible way to start the year! And February will be better, I’m sure.

…anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
Peter and the Sword of Mercy by Dave Barry & Ridley Pearson
METAtropolis ed. by John Scalzi
Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

Read but not owned
Fables, Vol. 16: Super Team by Bill Willingham
Chew, Vol. 4: Flambé by John Layman
Morning Glories, Vol. 2: All Will Be Free by Nick Spencer
The Scottish Prisoner by Diana Gabaldon

E-Books
Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

Re-Reads
The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
The Help by Kathryn Stockett
The Discovery of Jeanne Baret by Glynis Ridley
Enchantments by Kathryn Harrison

 
Added to my TBR pile (all-around shame!)
Flashman by George Fraser MacDonald The Mirage by Matt Ruff
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green Arcadia by Lauren Groff
 
Non-TBR Acquisitions (storage-space-related shame!)
Fables, Vol. 2: Animal Farm by Bill Willingham  
 

© 2012 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2012 9:47 pm

    I’m a big Flashman fan, but I’m honestly not sure how you’ll react to it. I’m doing a reread of the entire series on my blog (http://www.travelsthroughiest.blogspot.com) and I’m just about to start the 3rd book (Flash for Freedom) on it. You may want to have a look at it and decide if it’s for you. They’re excellent historical fiction, but Flashman’s morals are at best questionable and at worst non existent, some of what happens in the first book barely flew in the less politically correct era of the 1960’s, and a lot of people have issues with one incident in particular, If you can get past that you may enjoy not only this book, but the series as a while.

    • February 23, 2012 3:37 pm

      I’ll see, usually I’m not super sensitive about a lot of stuff, plus this series comes highly recommended. You’ve got me really curious, though!

Leave a Reply

