Skip to content

Kazu Kibuishi – Flight, Volumes 5 & 6

December 16, 2011

153 & 155. Flight, Volume 5 and Flight, Volume 6 ed. by Kazu Kibuishi (2008, 2009)
Flight, Volume 5 & 6

Read my review of:
Volumes 1 & 2
Volumes 3 & 4

Length: 364 & 284 pages
Genre: Fantasy, Anthology, Graphic Novel

Started / Finished: 24 & 27 November 2011

Where did they come from? The library.
Why do I have them? Ay-yup, that’s still Memory’s fault.

Summary: The Flight anthologies are collections of short stories in graphic novel form. They don’t have overt themes, per se, but in Volume 5, a number of the stories had to do with the power of childhood illusions and imaginations, while Volume 6 was more geared towards the choices one has to make in being a grownup. (These are vast oversimplifications; the stories are always really varied, and can just as easily feature ninjas, zombie rabbits, cowboys, or baseball players.)

Review: Now that I’ve gotten over my (false) preconception of “The Flight anthologies should mostly wordless” that I developed while reading Vols. 3 & 4, I enjoyed the heck out of these two volumes. Some highlights for me in Volume 5 included JP Ahomen’s “Worry Dolls”, about the way the dolls get rid of the worries from your mind while you sleep; Sarah Mensinga’s “The Changeling”, which had a really charming story and interesting artwork with a lovely palette; the lovely but incredibly sad “Voyage” by Kness & Made (I have a thing about polar bears, okay?); and Ryan North (of Dinosaur Comics) and John Martz’s gleefully absurd “Scenes in which the Earth Stops Spinning and Everybody Flies Into a Wall”, which is exactly what it sounds like. Volume 6 had the bizarre but fascinatingly drawn “Mate” by Andrea Offerman; Bannister & Grimaldi’s immediately recognizable tale of “Cooking Duel”; “Magnus the Misfit” by Graham Annable, a cute Viking story about fitting in – or not; and best of all, a Daisy Kutter story (“Phantoms”) by Kazu Kibuishi! 4 out of 5 stars.

Recommendation: These anthologies are visually stunning, full of interesting stories, and a great way to get exposed to the wide range of what comics can be, and can do. Definitely worth checking out.

Volume 5: This Review on LibraryThing | This Book on LibraryThing | This Book on Amazon

Volume 6: This Review on LibraryThing | This Book on LibraryThing | This Book on Amazon

Other Reviews: 1330v (#5), Stella Matutina (#5)
Have you reviewed these books? Leave a comment with the link and I’ll add it in.

© 2011 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2011 10:45 am

    I really want to read this series! I wish my library had them. :(

    • December 26, 2011 12:48 pm

      Kailana – I am so thankful for my library; it’s going to be a sad day when I have to move somewhere where the library is not so wonderful!

  2. December 16, 2011 11:01 am

    You make me want to read this series all over again! I really need to read volume 8.

    • December 26, 2011 12:49 pm

      Vasilly – I’ve got 7 & 8 on my holds list at the library right now!

  3. December 20, 2011 8:51 pm

    I’ve only read one of these, but I really enjoyed it. I think these might make good gifts for my kids (with the added plus that I can erad them, too!) :-)

    • December 26, 2011 12:50 pm

      Darla – Oh, for sure! There are a few stories that have some non-kid-friendly hints/nuances, but I don’t remember anything being overtly inappropriate in any of the volumes I’ve read. And hooray for gifts that are at least partly for yourself!

Leave a Reply

