Skip to content

Fall Read-a-thon ’11: The Big, Fancy, Frequently-Updated Post!

October 22, 2011

I am stupid excited about today’s readathon, especially considering that I missed last fall’s event because I spent the entire 24 hours (and then some) on airplanes or in airports. Not that I didn’t get some reading done, but there’s nothing quite like hunkering down for some dedicated reading time (and in such good company)!

I’ll be sticking with my one-post format that has worked so well for previous read-a-thons. (Now 95% less feed-reader-filling!) I’ll update it hourly (give or take), and keep my running totals at the bottom. Let’s get this nerdfest on the road!
________________________

Hour Zero – 7:55 am

I am prepped and ready – a stack of books that I’m excited to read, meals ready to go in the fridge, plenty of snacks and such on hand, and a slightly too short but still decent night’s sleep under my belt. I’m making some tea, and then I think I’m going to crawl back into bed with Way of Kings to start my day.
________________________

Hour One: 8-9 am

Time spent reading this hour: 0:53
Pages read this hour: 60
What book(s): The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson
Thoughts: So far so good! Way of Kings is an enormous book, both in terms of page number and physical size, so I’ve not been getting through it as quickly as I’d like, but I’m enjoying the story. Time for another cup of tea, and then I’m going to dive back in.
_________________________

Hour Two: 9-10 am

Time spent reading this hour: 0:50
Pages read this hour: 63
What book(s): Way of Kings
Thoughts: I’ve got 150 pages left in this book (out of 1000), and I’m not sure that it’s going to be enough to get me all the answers I want. It’s a cool world, and I realize this is only the first book of a long series, but still… so many questions!
_________________________

Hour Three: 10-11 am

Time spent reading this hour: 0:52
Pages read this hour: 75
What book(s): Way of Kings
Thoughts: Reading is going a little faster because it’s mostly been battle scenes, and I will admit to not reading as closely as normal during battles. Next update might be a little late, since I’m near enough the end that I think I’m just going to push through.
_________________________

Hour Four: 11 am-12 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:53
Pages read this hour: 80
What book(s): Finished The Way of Kings right at the hour mark.
Thoughts: I… am not sure what my thoughts are yet. Not entirely satisfied, I think, but I need time to mull on it. I’m going to take a quick break to make lunch, and then pick something way lighter for my next book.
_________________________

Hour Five: 12-1 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:29
Pages read this hour: 40
What book(s): Heartless by Gail Carriger
Thoughts: Half hour break for lunch and putting my contacts in (finally), and then back to my books! I normally try to read my own TBR pile books rather than library books during readathons, but I’m making an exception in this case. I needed something less serious and faster-paced than Way of Kings, and Heartless seemed like it would fit the bill perfectly.
_________________________

Hour Six: 1-2 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:55
Pages read this hour: 99
What book(s): Heartless
Thoughts: I was right – Heartless is the kind of silly, fun, fast read that’s perfect for the readathon. I’m enjoying it quite a bit, although I might take a break sometime soon and go on a walk while the afternoon’s nice.
_________________________

Hour Seven: 2-3 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:39
Pages read this hour: 70
What book(s): Heartless
Thoughts: Awww, Biffy! (Translation: Yes, I’m enjoying my book.)
_________________________

Hour Eight: 3-4 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:51
Pages read this hour: 94
What book(s): Heartless
Thoughts: Coming up on the end of the book, so I think I’m going to delay my walk just a little while longer. I’m liking this one a lot; there’s a nice balance of all of the characters and story elements that wasn’t quite there in the previous book in the series.
_________________________

Hour Nine: 4-5 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:31
Pages read this hour: 71
What book(s): Finished Heartless by Gail Carriger
Thoughts: Well, I finished my book pretty quickly; I enjoyed it thoroughly, although the hook/cliffhanger at the end was not as shocking to me as I think it was supposed to be. I’m just updating my iPod now, and then I think I’m going on a walk; gotta get some sunlight while it’s still nice out!
_________________________

Hour Ten: 5-6 pm

Time spent reading this hour: ~1:00 of audiobook listening
Pages read this hour: 0
What book(s): I started out with Furies of Calderon by Jim Butcher, but I’ve been having problems getting into it recently, and I wasn’t really paying attention, so I switched to Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.
Thoughts: What a nice walk! The park was relatively under-peopled given how nice of a day it is, but I did run into a friend and her dog, and see a guy on a skateboard wearing a Guy Fawkes mask. As you do.
_________________________

Hour Eleven: 6-7 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:34
Pages read this hour: 35
What book(s): Medium Raw by Anthony Bourdain
Thoughts: I picked this one up because it was dinnertime and I was hungry, and also had been craving non-fiction since early this afternoon. But I’m going to stick with it; it’s funny, and Bourdain’s writing and I get along really well.
_________________________

Hour Twelve: 7-8 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:53
Pages read this hour: 69
What book(s): Medium Raw
Thoughts: The chapters are only loosely connected to one another, but I do not care; they’re just plain fun to read. Also, I made it through the chapter called “Lust,” which is basically a collection of one- to two-paragraph snippets of descriptions of food, without going back for a second helping of dinner, so I’m going to count that as a victory (of timing, at least.) Also, it’s making me really want to bake bread, but I think I’ll leave that for tomorrow morning.
_________________________

Hour Thirteen: 8-9 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:53
Pages read this hour: 73
What book(s): Medium Raw
Thoughts: The past few chapters have taken a turn into dishing on other chefs and food critics, a few of whom I know about, most of whom I don’t. I get the fact that I’m not enough of a foodie, not enough on the inside to know about these things, but it does mean that a fair amount of this book is going over my head. At least it’s entertaining, even if I’m not always privvy to the whole story.
_________________________

Hour Fourteen: 9-10 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:54
Pages read this hour: 69
What book(s): Medium Raw
Thoughts: I don’t particularly care for seafood – although I’m learning – but I am absolutely fascinated by Bourdain’s description of watching a true expert clean and prep filets for Le Bernardin.
_________________________

Hour Fifteen: 10-11 pm

Time spent reading this hour: 0:36
Pages read this hour: 56
What book(s): Finished Medium Raw, and got through the introduction and first story (by Scott Westerfeld) in The Starry Rift, edited by Jonathan Strahan.
Thoughts: I’ve been having good luck with my choices so far. Since past experience tells me I’m only going to be good for another few hours, I decided to start a short-story anthology rather than another novel, so that I can put it down whenever I get tired without needing to remember where I was to pick it up again tomorrow.
_________________________

Hour Sixteen: 11 pm-12 am

Time spent reading this hour: 0:53 of audiobook
Pages read this hour: 0
What book(s): Harry Potter & the Half Blood Prince
Thoughts: After all my rhapsodizing about picking an anthology collection, I decided I was in the mood to listen to Harry Potter and play Dr. Mario for a while. I’ll try going back to the book, now.
_________________________

Hour Seventeen: 12-1 am

Time spent reading this hour: 0:52
Pages read this hour: 82
What book(s): The Starry Rift
Thoughts: A couple of stories this hour, including a re-read of Neil Gaiman’s “Orange”, which is so bizarre, but just as interesting the second time around.
_________________________

Hour Eighteen: 1-2 am

Time spent reading this hour: 0:14
Pages read this hour: 22
What book(s): The Starry Rift
Thoughts: I finished the story I was reading, which was a decent set-up but went on for too long with not enough pay-off. I know it’s lamely early, even by my own fairly lame standards, but I’m feeling kind of crappy and think I’m going to call it a night. Maybe I’ll get up early-ish and read for the last hour or so. :) Best of luck to everyone who’s still going strong!
_________________________

Total time spent reading: 11:49
Total time spent listening: 1:53
Total # of pages read: 1058
Total # of books finished: 3
Total # of books read but not finished: 2

© 2011 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2011 7:56 am

    Hope you gets tons of reading done! I’ll be reading today too – just not officially :)

  2. October 22, 2011 8:12 am

    Best of luck with your reading today!

  3. October 22, 2011 8:28 am

    Have fun today!

  4. Shanra permalink
    October 22, 2011 11:06 am

    Have fun today and may your books be wonderful! ^-^

  5. October 22, 2011 11:10 am

    It sounds like you’re off to an excellent start! I’m doing the single update post, too :-) I hope you have a wonderful readathon and day!!

  6. October 22, 2011 12:00 pm

    I hope you’re enjoying the brandon sanderson book. I finally read one of his books and I’, addicted to him. good luck for the rest of the read-a-thon.

  7. October 22, 2011 12:19 pm

    You are on a roll! I’m still on my first book. Happy reading!

  8. October 22, 2011 12:35 pm

    Well done on finishing your first book! I have THE WAY OF KINGS but haven’t managed to read it yet. Good luck with the rest of your reading!

  9. October 22, 2011 1:18 pm

    The party’s starting to pop
    And you’re already having fun.
    Don’t let the momentum stop
    And get some reading done!

    You’re doing GREAT so far! Enjoy the reading Nicki!

  10. October 22, 2011 2:15 pm

    I’m so happy you were able to participate in this year’s Readathon!
    Congratulations on finishing one book already! You’re doing awesome!

    Enjoy the rest of your Readathon day!
    Happy Reading & Have Fun!!

  11. October 22, 2011 3:07 pm

    Enjoy your day of reading … no where’s the coffee?

  12. October 22, 2011 5:28 pm

    I am mostly missing the read-a-thon, but I decided to pop by since I had a moment to visit a few blogs. I hope you are having fun!

  13. October 22, 2011 6:47 pm

    I just got my first book by Jim Butcher recently but have yet to read it. That’s an impressive book you started with at a 1000 pages! Keep up the great work.

  14. October 22, 2011 7:20 pm

    Looks like you’re still holding strong. Keep it up! :D

  15. October 22, 2011 10:29 pm

    Cheers! congrats on your win!!
    – Care / CheerTRIX

    • October 22, 2011 10:43 pm

      Thanks for commenting and letting me know… I’ve been so wrapped up in reading that I totally would have missed it!

  16. October 22, 2011 10:33 pm

    I love Gail Carriger’s series and have been holding on to my copy of Heartless for a rainy day. Hope you enjoyed it!!! Good luck with your reading and hope you have lots of fun along the way!

    *Keep it up,
    You’re doing great,
    Read lots of books,
    And stay up late!*

  17. October 23, 2011 1:33 am

    Fantastic job!

  18. October 23, 2011 2:49 pm

    You did great! Hope you’re feeling better this morning.

  19. October 23, 2011 3:20 pm

    I called it a day around hour 17 as well. I was just so tired! Looks like you had a great readathon though!

Leave a Reply

