Skip to content

September 2011 Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews

October 4, 2011

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started September with 270 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* …270! Woohoo! 270, incidentally, is where I started back in January, so we’re at +0 for the year, not just the month. And hopefully the readathon in October can help cut that number down even more… if I can stay away from the library booksale for the rest of the month.

…anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
Cryoburn by Lois McMaster Bujold
Peter and the Secret of Rundoon by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson
Discord’s Apple by Carrie Vaughn
Read but not owned
Bone Sharps, Cowboys, and Thunder Lizards by Jim Ottaviani
Charles Darwin’s On the Origin of Species: A Graphic Adaptation by Michael Keller
The Wild Rose by Jennifer Donnelly
Wildwood by Colin Meloy
E-books and Short Stories
The Sagan Diary by John Scalzi
Lady Into Fox by David Garnett
Soulless by Gail Carriger*
Changeless by Gail Carriger*

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
Lord John and the Private Matter by Diana Gabaldon
Old Magic by Marianne Curley
The Crystal Cave by Mary Stewart
The Last Colony by John Scalzi
Other removals from my TBR pile (um… huzzah?)
To Ride Hells Chasm by Janny Wurts (DNF)
Added to my TBR pile (all-around shame!)
The Seven Towers by Patricia C. Wrede Storm Glass by Maria V. Snyder
The Voyage of the Narwhal by Andrea Barrett Courage of Falcons by Holly Lisle
Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle The Technologists by Matthew Pearl
Added to my eTBR pile* (non-storage-space-related shame!)
Blameless by Gail Carriger * Pursuant to the discussion on this post, I’ve decided to create an eTBR pile for e-books for which I actually pay money. I’m not adding them into my total TBR numbers, but I have to fess up about them somewhere. Keeps me honest.
Non-TBR Acquisitions (storage-space-related shame!)
Hand of Isis by Jo Graham

© 2011 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2011 7:02 pm

    Aw! The Seven Towers! I have such a soft spot for that book because it was out of print in the days before used books on the internet became such an easy thing, and my sister and I were rapid Patricia C. Wrede fans and this was the only one of her books we hadn’t read. Every Sunday after Mass we’d go to this little used bookstore in town, and every single week we’d check the fantasy section to see if they’d gotten this book and they never had, and they never had UNTIL ONE DAY THEY HAD IT OMG BEST DAY EVER.

    I think the awesomeness of being able to get out-of-print books on the internet easily outweighs the occasional day like that, but damn, that was a good day.

    • October 5, 2011 9:57 am

      Jenny – Aww, what a great story! I don’t really have anything to compare; I think the first time I realized books went out of print was in high school, when I wanted my own copy of a play we read in English class.

      Also, you are clearly the person to ask (although I may have asked you this before and forgotten the answer): Is it better to read the Lyra books in publication order, or in terms of series chronology? I have (almost) all of them on the TBR pile, but am not sure where to start…

  2. October 4, 2011 7:42 pm

    You added some really good books to your TBR pile! I am really enjoying Gail Carriger. I am reading book 3 right now.

    • October 5, 2011 9:59 am

      Kailana – I actually finished book 3 right before this post went up! But it was still technically TBR at the end of September, so. I’ve got the next book on hold at the library… can’t wait!

  3. October 6, 2011 11:39 pm

    I love seeing your TBR updates! I only count how many I read and how many I add every month, but I actually have no idea how many books I have on my TBR pile. Your monthly wrap ups inspire me to maybe take the time to count them next year!

    • October 7, 2011 9:38 am

      kay – I only know because of my LibraryThing account… click on the TBR tag, and it pulls up my list! Also handy for deciding what to read next…

  4. October 8, 2011 8:19 pm

    I like your approach to the monthly wrap-up! Just this month I added all my TBR-owned books to Goodreads, so now I actually know now many I own. It’s, um…a lot :-)

    • October 14, 2011 9:52 am

      Erin – My quest to quantify my TBR pile started several years ago, when I decided to stack them all up to see how tall they were, and then promptly resolved not to acquire any more books than I was able to read…. and that was when Mt. TBR only stood at 171. Ha! So adorably naïve I was.

Leave a Reply

