Skip to content

Stephanie Perkins – Lola and the Boy Next Door

August 15, 2011

LibraryThing Early Reviewers101. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins (2011)

Length: 344 pages
Genre: Contemporary YA Romance

Started / Finished: 31 July 2011

Where did it come from? LibraryThing Early Reviewers program.
Why do I have it? I was thoroughly charmed by Anna and the French Kiss so I definitely wanted to read Perkins’s next book.
How long has it been on my TBR pile? Since 13 July 2011.

My next-door neighbors
were always old ladies; where
was my Cricket Bell?

Summary: Lola Nolan thinks life is going pretty well: supportive family, promising future career as a fashion designer, and a hot older boyfriend who’s in a band. But then her next-door neighbors – the twins Cricket and Calliope – move back home, and suddenly Lola’s life is thrown into turmoil. She’d been friends with Calliope – and maybe more than friends with Cricket – a few years before, but things had ended badly before they’d moved away. Lola had thought she was over it, but now that Cricket’s back in her life, she’s wondering if she might still have feelings for the boy next door… and if she does, what on earth is she going to do about them?

Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door is a quasi-sequel to Anna and the French Kiss (the plots are unrelated, but Anna and Étienne do show up as minor characters), and it’s very much in the same vein: a cute (if somewhat predictable) contemporary teen romance that I devoured in less than 24 hours. It manages to be sweet without being syrupy, and romantic without losing its realism. I didn’t like it quite as much as Anna and the French Kiss – that’s mostly down to Lola, who I found less relatable than Anna; while she was fine as a narrator, I would find her completely insufferable if I had to deal with her in real life – I still had a good time reading it, and was in a good mood by the time I finished.

My only real issue with the book was the same one that I had with Anna and the French Kiss: the unlikeability of the third party in the relationship (Étienne’s girlfriend and Lola’s boyfriend). While everyone who’s ever read a romance knows who the protagonist is going to wind up with by the end of the book (it’s right there in the title!), all the hand-wringing about not wanting to hurt the person they were with at the beginning of the book would have a lot more emotional impact if said person were not an unrepentant asshole. But the love interest is charming, the romance is sweet, the dialogue is well-written, and there are plenty of funny parts, and that’s really about all I can ask for. 4 out of 5 stars.

Recommendation: Recommended for days when you need a pick-me-up from a cranky mood, or when you need a light break from more serious, heavy fiction.

This Review on LibraryThing | This Book on LibraryThing | This Book on Amazon

Other Reviews: Good Books & Good Wine, The Perpetual Page-Turner, The Readventurer, Write Meg
Have you reviewed this book? Leave a comment with the link and I’ll add it in.

First Line: I have three simple wishes.

© 2011 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2011 12:31 pm

    That’s a good point about the unlikable third party in each book. I wonder if we will see that again in the third book, and what boy name she will come up with next!
    I really enjoyed the two books in the series. I think the author does a great job with showing her character’s longing and the slow building romance.

    • August 22, 2011 8:39 am

      readingdate – Heh, that’s true, I was willing to buy Étienne, but Cricket’s a little out there for a real name.

  2. August 15, 2011 3:16 pm

    Sounds cute! I still need to read Anna and the French Kiss.

    • August 22, 2011 8:39 am

      Kathy – Definitely! It’s super-cute and a really fast read.

  3. August 15, 2011 5:13 pm

    I am glad to keep hearing her books are enjoyable. One day I will read them!

    • August 22, 2011 8:39 am

      Kailana – I have that feeling about so many books…

  4. August 16, 2011 8:13 am

    I loved Anna so much it was my favourite book from 2010, Perkin’s writing is fantastic. I can’t wait to read this one.

Trackbacks

  1. Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins « Waking Brain Cells

Leave a Reply

