Skip to content

July 2011 Wrap-up: Books and Reviews

August 1, 2011

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started July with 277 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* …275! Woohoo! Negative numbers! Pretty good, especially considering this last week has been so busy I’ve barely had the chance to read anything.

…anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
Beastly by Alex Flinn
Diplomatic Immunity by Lois McMaster Bujold
When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
Read but not owned
Runaways Vol. 10: Rock Zombies by Terry Moore
BtVS S8, Vol. 8: Last Gleaming by Joss Whedon
Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris
Re-reads
A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
Year of the Griffin by Diana Wynne Jones
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
Centuries of June by Keith Donohue
Wildefire by Karsten Knight
The Fart Party, Vol. 1 by Julia Wertz
Headless Males Make Great Lovers: And Other Unusual Natural Histories
by Marty Crump
Becoming Marie Antoinette by Juliet Grey
Acquired and then Read (semi-huzzah!)
Before Ever After by Samantha Sotto
Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
Added to my TBR pile (shame!)
The Ghost Brigades by John Scalzi Robin’s Country by Monica Furlong (Jenny’s fault)
The Last Colony by John Scalzi The Ravens of Falkenau by Jo Graham
Zoe’s Tale by John Scalzi

© 2011 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2011 7:36 am

    Yay, TBR reduction! I hope I can say the same next month, as I failed pretty badly at it this month. I love Scalzi’s books, so I hope you enjoy those three.

    • August 1, 2011 10:43 am

      Meghan – I’m looking forward to them!

      I hope I can keep the trend going through August… I’ve sort of burnt out on reading review books (not that I haven’t read some good ones, but I’ve been reading a LOT of them), so I’ve stopped requesting nearly so many recently… plus my TBR-related guilt and general busyness has been helping to keep me out of the library booksale. :)

  2. August 1, 2011 12:43 pm

    Horray for TBR reductions! Also, adding more John Scalzi to your TBR is praise-worthy, not shameful. :)

    • August 1, 2011 2:18 pm

      Memory – Not as praise-worthy as getting them back *off* the TBR pile, though!

      That’s the problem with having so many first books in a series in my TBR pile. I think I’m clearing books, but it winds up just leading to more acquisitions…

  3. August 1, 2011 11:04 pm

    Good job reducing the TBR! I don’t think I managed to do that at all this month :)

    • August 2, 2011 7:48 am

      Kim – Yeah, but you’ve got the valid excuse of moving, yes? I doubt I’d get anything much read under those circumstances either.

  4. August 2, 2011 4:43 pm

    Yay! TBR reductions! (Coincidentally, I also managed to knock two books off the pile in July.) Congratulations on the negative figures! ^-^ Long may they continue! <3

  5. August 2, 2011 5:18 pm

    It is never shameful to add Scalzi to your TBR books.
    It’s your net list numbers that mesmerize me. Ever tried your hand at non profit accounting? I think you’d be a natural.

    • August 2, 2011 5:45 pm

      Carrie – While I am in fact a giant nerd who has a bunch of spreadsheets for tracking things like this, the net TBR numbers are actually counted for me by LibraryThing. Every book that comes in gets a TBR tag, and every book I finish (or get rid of, whatever) gets that tag taken off!

  6. August 3, 2011 6:07 pm

    I REALLY need to read more John Scalzi. There is just not enough time in the day to read everything I want to read…

    • August 8, 2011 10:10 am

      Kailana – I know the feeling! I want to read the rest of Scalzi’s books before the details of the first one fall out of my head… but I also have a stack of some 20 other books (at least) that are also demanding my immediate attention. Not to mention the entire rest of my TBR pile!

  7. August 10, 2011 3:34 pm

    Anytime our TBR piles decrease, it’s a celebration! Wouldn’t it be marvelous if we read books as fast as we acquire them?
    Now I’m a bit envious of your copy of “Lola and the boy next door”.

Leave a Reply

