Skip to content

Terry Moore – Runaways, Vol. 10: Rock Zombies

July 26, 2011

90. Rock Zombies by Terry Moore, Takeshi Miyazawa (2010)
Runaways, Vol. 10

Length: 112 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Superhero Sci-Fi

Where did it come from? The library.
Started/Finished: 08 July 2011

Summary: The main story arc in this volume involves the Runaways stopping a renegade DJ who has found the perfect mind-control device: a song that turns everyone who has had plastic surgery into zombies… and in L.A., that equals quite a pretty sizable zombie army. There are also two short stories, one involving Molly being invited to visit the San Francisco X-men compound, and how her recruitment goes; the other involving a game of truth-or-dare among the runaways that gets out of hand.

Review: While this installment was entertaining enough, and certainly had its share of funny/charming moments, I definitely got a bit of a sense that it was floundering for a story. When the big arc wrapped up, and Brian K. Vaughan handed off the reins to others, the series has lost its sense of direction, leaving the recent volumes feeling a little episodic and disjointed. The artwork has also become less to my taste; the characters are mostly identifiable by their accessories, rather than because any of them look like themselves. So: not a bad way to spend half an hour, but not as good as it used to be. 3 out of 5 stars.

This Review on LibraryThing | This Book on LibraryThing | This Book on Amazon

Other Reviews: Have you reviewed this book? Leave a comment with the link and I’ll add it in.

© 2011 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2011 8:55 pm

    The early ones were certainly the best, but there was something in efer Runaways collection to love and laugh at. Molly rocked every single scene she ever appeared in. This was how superhero comics should always have been done.

    • August 1, 2011 10:14 am

      Elfy – They’re definitely entertaining enough to keep me reading, but I usually prefer stuff with a strong central story arc as well as cute character moments.

  2. July 27, 2011 9:36 am

    I have always been curious about this series, but it is so long and my library is bad with only have parts of series…

    • August 1, 2011 10:15 am

      Kailana – The length in itself shouldn’t scare you off; there’s lots of volumes but they’re each really quick. But if your library’s bad about shelving entire series runs, I can see how that would get very annoying very quickly.

  3. July 27, 2011 8:35 pm

    My boss got me hooked on this series. So far I’ve only read the first three, and while I’ve really enjoyed them, I may stop reading them when I get to the last Brian K. Vaughan one. I’m new to the graphic novel world, so I’m still getting used to the idea of different people writing the same series. I’m not a big fan of it, actually. Not to sound like a little kid throwing a tantrum or anything, but I LIKE the artwork and writing in the the first books! I don’t want anyone else doing it!

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Good to know I won’t be missing much when I stop reading the series :)

    • August 1, 2011 10:18 am

      Emily – I think that’s a solid plan. Actually, I might recommend reading one past the last Brian K. Vaughn volume… Vol. 8 is written by Joss Whedon, and is worthwhile if you like Whedon’s writing – it’s a good story, and relatively self-contained.

      • August 1, 2011 7:30 pm

        Will do. I got a little side-tracked by other shiny, book-shaped objects, but when I get back into the Runaways I’ll make a note to keep going to Vol. 8. Thanks for the review and the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

