Skip to content

TSS: Best laid plans

February 13, 2011

The Sunday Salon.comHappy Sunday, all!

I had planned to spend yesterday in a mini-readathon; I’ve been kind of distractible lately, and I really just needed to plant my butt in my reading chair and plow through a book or two. However, I got distracted (see?) by the A&E Colin Firth Pride and Prejudice. I’d been thinking about rewatching it since last weekend when I saw The King’s Speech (which was absolutely wonderful), and yesterday sort of went “Oh, I’ll just put a DVD on in the background while I’m picking up the house.” and then five hours later I’ve watched the entire thing and not read a single page or written a single review all day.

So today! Today I will read! And write reviews! (And do laundry! but that’s neither here nor there.) I’d like to finish up How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe by Charles Yu, which thus far is interesting, and so very meta that it makes my head hurt, but has only now latched onto a plot, and I’m on page 100 and change. I’m also making progress on the last book of The Forsyte Saga, so if I can knock off a few pages of that too, things’ll be good.

Oh! Apropos of absolutely nothing else in this post, I’ve been working on revamping my reading tracking spreadsheet. It works much the same, but each year now has its own page, and space to track other variables, like the sex of the author, the genre, the year the book was published, where it came from, number of unique authors, etc. It should be pretty customizable to your own tracking needs, but if there are variables out there that lots of people would like to have but that I haven’t thought of, I’ll add them in before I post the new version. So….

What about you, readers? If you do yearly wrap-up posts, what kind of variables/percents/tallies do you report? Or would you like to report, if you had a nifty spreadsheet that would keep track of them for you?

© 2011 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2011 9:54 am

    I had big plans to read/write/blog yesterday, but got derailed by DVDs of Modern Family and other TV on Netflix. Before I knew it, it was 5:30 and we had to head out for dinner plans. I made a list of things to finish today, so now I just have to go do them!

  2. February 13, 2011 10:17 am

    LOVE the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice. I just wrote today how I liked it infinitely better than the KK version.

    Also, I hope you end up liking “How to Live Safely.” It’s one of my best reads so far this year!

    Happy reading!

  3. February 13, 2011 11:25 am

    I must be the only person who just couldn’t get into this version of P&P. I tried to watch it with a girlfriend but we stretched it over two nights and STILL haven’t finished. Don’t care to. ;)

    In terms of keeping track of books, I generally just keep track of the date that I read the book. I do have a spreadsheet that I input publish date, my version, paper/hardcover, where I got the book, how much I paid, and date finished. I’ve been really lousy at keeping up the past year, though–trying to backtrack is a pain! Your method sounds much more organized!!

  4. February 13, 2011 11:39 am

    I have lost hours of my life to watching that version of P&P – it’s unquestionably my favorite and well worth watching over and over. I haven’t yet seen The King’s Speech, but I really want to.

    Your post inspired me to keep up with my reading tracking, something I neglected so far this year. I’m up to date now, though, at long last. I like to track how many pages I’ve read, which authors I’ve read the most by, and what percentage of my reading has been review, TBR, or library. I’m pretty appalled to say I hadn’t read ANY library books yet this year, but I’ll be changing that today. I’ve also started to keep track of whether I’ve read an ebook or a paper book. I used your spreadsheet for a few years (and recommend it to all!) but have since had my husband, another Excel wizard, make me my own customised to everything my little heart desires. :)

  5. February 13, 2011 12:01 pm

    My spreadsheet is so simple, just book title and page count. Someday I might add more, but for now simplicity works for me.

    I’ve been very distractable lately too. I need to write so many reviews. I haven’t had a problem reading, but when I sit down to write reviews I magically find something else to do (like watch Sex and the City reruns on the Entertainment network – I’d never seen the show prior to watching this past month and I think I’m adding a new addiction to the list).

  6. February 13, 2011 12:05 pm

    I was intending to go for an early brunch this morning and then spend the rest of the day catching up on my reviews and everyone else’s blogs, but I woke up all shaky and nauseated and sore-throat-y and went straight back to sleep until eleven. The best-laid plans, eh?

  7. February 13, 2011 1:46 pm

    I don’t get much reading or blogging done on the weekends. I do a year end post, but I’m afraid I would keep a spreadsheet like that up.

  8. February 13, 2011 2:06 pm

    I just saw The King’s Speech on Friday – loved it! I’m a fan of Colin Firth but have not gotten around to watching Pride and Prejudice.

    I would like to keep track of my books read on a spreadsheet. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with. It sounds like you have all the variables included that I would be interested in.

    Happy reading, reviews, and laundry day!

  9. February 13, 2011 4:55 pm

    I track years published, new authors, TBR list – Y or N, genre, library/my book/review copy and pages. This year I added print, ebook and audiobook to the list. Now that I have a Kindle, I would like to read more ebooks. I currently use your spreadsheet with my annual reading goal and like seeing when I’m ahead of schedule (it’s just the little things, isn’t it?). So, I’m looking forward to seeing the updated version. Thanks again for sharing your spreadsheet.

  10. February 13, 2011 9:35 pm

    Oh, I’ve had that happen too. But one scene leads to another and… ::sigh::
    I’ve added a few more columns to my spreadsheet this year (page numbers, ISBNs…things that a lot of readers do seem to track but I haven’t been that thorough), but tracking it does steal away reading time for sure. ::squints at open tab that I should be updating even now::

  11. February 14, 2011 6:39 am

    Your spreadsheet is wonderful, as I love lists and keeping track of things but I’m hopeless with doing things that complicated (to my poor little brain, anyway) on Excel. I also like to keep track of country of setting, original language, original publication date, author gender and where I got the book from. Lists make me happy!

  12. February 16, 2011 11:35 am

    I let goodreads track my books. They have a nifty little stats feature that lists your books and pages read by year. If you remember to log them in of course.

    I never did find a plot in How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe . I was so disappointed … I thought I would enjoy this book and I never really got into it. It wasn’t that it was too meta, it was all the rambling that bothered me.

  13. February 18, 2011 8:26 pm

    Work is eating up all my fun time. Bad work.

    My original spreadsheet (after making fun of friends who kept one) was title & author. Now I keep title, author, genre, fiction/non fiction, library, gift or purchase, hardback or paperback, start/finish date, year wrote (NOT PUBLISHED. Argh) #of pages……my year end wrap up (when I do one, I do one for myself in any event, oldest book read, most published in a year/decade, male/female ratio of writers……any quirk that takes my fancy. It’s actually pretty fun.

    That Yu book was just recommended to me at GoodReads. It sounds pretty good. I think I’ve run across it but couldn’t buy it then & there.

Leave a Reply

