Skip to content

TSS: Christmas Cookies Come But Once A Year

December 12, 2010

The Sunday Salon.comHappy Sunday, everyone! I hope everyone is having a lovely and relaxing weekend, and if it’s snowing where you are like it is here, I hope you are curled up with a good book and a mug of something hot.

Before I get to the bulk of the post, I wanted to remind everyone that I’m giving away both Twilight of Avalon and Dark Moon of Avalon by Anna Elliot. I really enjoyed these books, so if you like historical fiction, or know someone who does, head on over to this post to enter for a chance to win them!


One of my favorite parts of the Christmas season is the weekend that I spend doing very little except making Christmas cookies. This year, that weekend is this weekend; I’ve already made Cornflake Wreaths, Peppermint Bark, Brigadeiros, Gingerbread, and Chocolate Marshmallow Logs, and I’ve still got Chocolate Crackle Cookies and White Chocolate Cranberry Walnut Oatmeal Cookies to do today (or maybe tomorrow, depending on how the timing goes.)

I actually have gotten a bunch of reading done this weekend as well; way more than I have the rest of the week. This morning I finished up The Virgin Widow over breakfast, plus I always bake with the accompaniment of an audiobook, so I’ve gotten a fair way through Brothers in Arms as well. (The audiobooks-plus-baking are usually a good idea and let me get in a lot of reading, but there was the memorable year when listening to The Book Thief resulted in me crying into the dough for three straight batches of cookies.)

In keeping with my yearly tradition, here’s the recipe for some of my Christmas cookies (the other recipes I’ve posted are linked above):

Chocolate Marshmallow Logs (or, as I called them when I was little, Stained Glass Cookies)

This one’s in my mom’s recipe file, so I’ve got no idea where it came from… probably off the back of a package of marshmallows, actually. They’re not really cookies, per se, more like marshmallow-heavy fudge bars, but quick and tasty no matter what you call them!

– 12 oz. (one bag) semisweet chocolate chips
– 4 T. butter
– 2 eggs
– ~6 c. (one 10 oz. bag) multi-colored mini-marshmallows
– powdered sugar

1. Melt the butter and chocolate together in a double boiler if you have one, or in a large-ish pot over low heat.
2. Beat the eggs lightly with a fork.
3. Take the chocolate off the heat; quickly stir in the eggs.
4. Allow to cool slightly (I forgot this step yesterday, and all of my marshmallows melted into goo), then add the marshmallows and stir until coated.
5. Divide mixture into 4 parts, spoon onto well-sugared pieces of wax paper in lines. Sprinkle more powdered sugar over the top, then wrap into log-shape.
6. Refrigerate until set. Slice into ~1/2″ thick cross-sections, peel away the wax paper, and enjoy!

© 2010 Fyrefly’s Book Blog. All Rights Reserved. If you’re reading this on a site other than Fyrefly’s Book Blog or its RSS feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is being used without permission.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2010 9:08 pm

    My life is crazy these days so I won’t get to do much holiday baking, and I’ll miss it – it’s one of the best parts of the holidays.

    • December 13, 2010 9:08 am

      bermudaonion – I always love cookie-baking weekend… especially since my house smells like gingerbread for days afterwards!

  2. December 12, 2010 9:39 pm

    Lots of rain here, leading to water in the basement. It’s fine now and I started baking this afternoon, Ginger Shortbread, a new recipe. Baking is wonderful as long as others eat most of the results. I already reading two books but picked up The Algebraist by Iain M. Banks and can not put it down!

    • December 13, 2010 9:09 am

      Gavin – Oooh, ginger shortbread sounds excellent, especially if you’ve got a nice mug of tea to go with it!

  3. December 12, 2010 10:50 pm

    Yum, I love Stained Glass Cookies! I’ve never made them, but someone in my family brings them to Christmas most years, I just can’t remember who. They seem really easy though, so maybe I can handle them!

    • December 13, 2010 9:10 am

      Kim – They are wicked easy, so if you don’t get your fill at your family Christmas, you should definitely make some of your own!

  4. December 13, 2010 1:30 pm

    Mmmm, cookies. I must find time to do some baking of my own!

    • December 17, 2010 9:56 am

      Nymeth – I like things like this and cornflake wreaths, that don’t take much time and don’t require waiting for the oven to chime.

  5. December 13, 2010 8:38 pm

    Mm, those look delicious. I know myself too well to think I could ever pull those off, but I admire those who can manage them.

    • December 17, 2010 9:57 am

      Jenny – Aww, pshaw. Only four ingredients! You can do it!

Leave a Reply

