Skip to content

TSS: Easter edition

April 4, 2010

The Sunday Salon.comTo those of you of the Christian persuasion, Happy Easter! To those of you of the irreverent Christian persuasion, Happy Zombie Jesus Day! To those of you of the pagan persuasion, Happy Spring Fertility Festival, and a belated Happy Solstice! To everybody else, Happy Day the Jellybeans and Cadbury Mini-Eggs Go on Sale!

I realized yesterday that in my March Wrap-Up, I totally forgot about my fledgling tradition of selecting a Pick of the Month, so I’m going to remedy that now.

My pick for March is… *drumroll* … Barrayar, by Lois McMaster Bujold! (I wish I could link to the review, but the sad truth is that I haven’t written it yet – it’s on my to-do list for today. I’ve been putting it off because while I really, really liked this book, it’s one of those cases where I don’t have a whole lot to say other than “Wow, I really, really liked this book.”) I’ve yet to read anything by Bujold that didn’t fall somewhere on the ‘really-like to totally-love’ end of the spectrum, and Barrayar was no exception. It’s family drama and political drama masquerading as science fiction, and it’s wonderfully character-driven, and driven by some wonderful characters.

(Hey, look, there’s the first few lines of my review already done!)

Today will primarily be spent working on my dissertation, although I’ve got the draft of the chapter I’ve been working on almost complete – this morning’s going to be editing, cleaning up, and adding in references. Friends are coming over this afternoon for my annual Easter egg coloring party as well. I don’t know that I’ll get a lot of time to read today, although I’ll probably put my current audiobook (Terry Pratchett’s Nation, which I am thoroughly loving so far) on while I’m cleaning. In any case, I should probably get those eggs a-boiling. Happy Sunday, all!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2010 9:50 am

    Sadly it seems all the stores around here are already out of the mini eggs, so I can’t stock up for cheap.

  2. April 4, 2010 10:03 am

    I’m going to wait for your review before I rush out and get a book called Barayyar. It sounds a bit like something a Viking might scream out before cutting off someone’s head.

    But the cover does look like fun.

    • April 5, 2010 3:12 pm

      CB – Barrayar’s the name of the planet, which has a vaguely feudal Russian inspiration and naming system, rather than Vikings. The rest of your guess, though, is not terribly far off at all. :)

  3. April 4, 2010 10:35 am

    Oh, “Happy Zombie Jesus Day” is going to get you some good search queries for next month’s roundup!

    Yes, these days, the days after a holiday, with the half price stuff, are the most fun days!

    • April 5, 2010 3:13 pm

      rhapsody – I totally failed to pick up any candy hearts on the cheap after Valentine’s day, so I am now well-stocked on jellybeans.

  4. April 4, 2010 10:58 am

    I love easter egg coloring! Have fun.

  5. April 4, 2010 11:17 am

    A science fiction family drama? If it spans at least two generations, my heart will be all a-quiver.

    Good luck with your dissertation!

    • April 5, 2010 3:14 pm

      Omni – The series as a whole spans two generations, but this book is more tightly focused. I still think you’d probably enjoy it.

  6. April 4, 2010 12:22 pm

    Cadbury cream eggs are the gods gift to humans. They are just divine.

    • April 5, 2010 3:15 pm

      Trisha – Oh, I can’t deal with the texture of the cream eggs, but I absolutely love the mini-eggs.

  7. April 4, 2010 2:58 pm

    Happy Easter! I hope you get a lot done on your dissertation.

  8. April 4, 2010 9:21 pm

    It’s comforting to know I am not the only one who reads a book and thinks, “I have to write something more about it than wow.” lol

    • April 5, 2010 3:16 pm

      Amber – I bet that happens to a lot of people. I’ve been letting this review sit in the hopes that some deep thoughts will gestate, but they just haven’t been.

Leave a Reply

