Skip to content

TSS: February Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews

February 28, 2010

The Sunday Salon.comHappy Sunday, all! I’m going to try to do a Sunday Salon, Monthly Wrap-Up, and Pick of the Month all in one post, so it’s going to get a little crowded around here. Sorry about that.

February’s been kind of crazy busy and hectic, and if I start thinking about it as “one month less to get my dissertation finished” I start panicking, so let’s think about it in terms of books instead! It’s felt like I haven’t had a lot of mental energy to read, but I’ve actually finished a fair number of books, so… go me!

As a whole, they’ve ranged from pretty good to really good, but it was still easy to select my Pick of the Month: Jo Walton’s Tooth and Claw. It thoroughly charmed me, and I think it’s a bit of a travesty that this book (and this author) aren’t more widely read.

Ye Grande Olde TBR(e) Challenge Update

I started February with 252 unread books sitting around my house. And I ended with … *drumroll* … 255! Not great, but still not too shabby, plus I was really good about reading my own TBR books instead of library books (except graphic novels, but I’ve already decided those don’t count.) Anyways, let’s take a look at the breakdown:

Neutral books – Read, but don’t affect the TBR pile

Audiobooks
The Islands of the Blessed by Nancy Farmer
Peter & Max: A Fables Novel by Bill Willingham

Read but not owned
Serenity, Vol. 2: Better Days by Joss Whedon et al.
The Sandman Presents: Thessaly: Witch for Hire by Bill Willingham et al.
The Sandman Presents: Taller Tales by Bill Willingham et al.


Changes to the TBR pile

Cleared from my TBR pile (huzzah!)
Fifth Quarter by Tanya Huff
Ironside by Holly Black
Tooth and Claw by Jo Walton
The Mathematics of Love by Emma Darwin
Hearts at Stake by Alyxandra Harvey
The Creation of Eve by Lynn Cullen


 
Added to my TBR pile (shame!)
Blossom Culp and the Sleep of Death by Richard Peck The King’s Peace by Jo Walton
The Origins of Life and the Universe by Paul F. Lurquin (my dad’s fault) The Chalk-Circle Man by Fred Vargas (Unshelved comics’ fault)
Heresy by S. J. Parris The Book of Air and Shadows by Michael Gruber
The Book of Fires by Jane Borodale (Stephanie’s fault) Year of the Horse by Justin Allen (I was contacted by the author, but this is indirectly Lorin’s fault)
Woman: An Intimate Geography by Natalie Angier (Nymeth’s fault)  
 
Other non-TBR Additions
The Diamond of Darkhold by Jeanne Duprau Paper Towns by John Green
Cook Yourself Thin: Skinny Meals You Can Make in Minutes  
10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2010 3:09 pm

    Looks like you got some great books this month! I am looking forward to reading your review of The Creation of Eve. That book has been on my radar for awhile now.

    • March 2, 2010 8:07 am

      reviewsbylola – My review will be up in two weeks, but the short version: Good, solid historical fiction about a time and place and people I didn’t know much about. Not exactly mold-breaking, but definitely a good read.

  2. February 28, 2010 10:58 pm

    I love your decision that graphic novels won’t count! I actually feel the same way! :–)

    • March 2, 2010 8:08 am

      rhapsody – There are times when my brain is just not interested in handling anything more than a graphic novel, and if I bought them all, I’d be broke, so those *have* to come from the library. :)

  3. February 28, 2010 10:59 pm

    Okay, okay, I have got to read Jo Walton. I keep seeing her name all over the place!

    • March 2, 2010 8:09 am

      Gavin – Well, it’s in this post three times, at least (seven if you count the pictures!) :)

  4. March 1, 2010 9:47 am

    I’m glad that even though you’re stressed, you’re still reading! I hope your dissertation is going well.

    • March 2, 2010 8:11 am

      Meghan – My dissertation requires a fair bit of journal reading, but that’s very different from novel reading. I’ve always wondered how people in fields that require mountains of book-reading do it, and still have the motivation to read with their free time.

  5. March 1, 2010 1:23 pm

    Wow, your TBR pile is growing by leaps and bounds! :)

    I didn’t remember to write a monthly wrap-up until last night, otherwise I would have included it in my Sunday Salon too. Now I just have to set aside some time to write it.

  6. March 2, 2010 8:13 am

    Alyce – Only a net increase of 3! That sounds much better than saying an addition of 9.

    I write my monthly wrap-up post in bits and pieces throughout the month as I finish/acquire stuff, so that all I have to do at the end of the month is take the picture of the stack of books.

Leave a Reply

