Skip to content

Sunday Salon: Pick of the Month

January 31, 2010

The Sunday Salon.comHappy Sunday, all! I hope everyone is keeping warm and cozy today… it’s cold enough here that me and clogged sinuses are in full hibernation mode. I’ve got blankets, a good book, plenty of tea, some Dayquil, and all of my errands already accomplished. Yay!

Ever since I made my “best of 2009” list, I’ve been thinking. Picking the five or ten best books out of a pool of 140ish was a damn daunting task. Picking the best one out of a pool of twelve or thirteen is substantially less hard. (Still not easy, though, of course.) So, I think I’ll start doing a pick of the month, and that way, when next New Year’s rolls around, I’ll have an already-culled pool of 12 to pick from.

In the future, I might start putting this in my monthly wrap-up, but this month’s wrap-up is already quite long – I’ve been a bad kid when it comes to book acquisitions. Not only did a lot of my wishlisted books come up on Bookmooch, but I also really need to start scheduling my weekly library trip at a time when the booksale is not open. Bad Nicki!

Aaaaaanyways. Pick of the month. It was a close call between two books, both of which featured angels and deep thoughts about the nature of life and love and such, and which were otherwise about as different as possible. Elizabeth Knox’s The Vintner’s Luck and Libba Bray’s Going Bovine were both excellent books, but in the end I’m going to give the nod to Going Bovine. I’ll have my full review up tomorrow, but the short version is that not only did it make me think deep thoughts about the nature of life and love and such, but it also the cause of quite a few bouts of very loud, often very public, very uncontrollable laughter, and more than a few tears. Good stuff.

What about you, readers? What’s your best read from January 2010?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 12:10 pm

    Best read of January for me was Too Good To Be True by Kristin Higgans, a contemporary romance that I stumbled across in the blogosphere. I was not disappointed– I thought it was likely one of the best written romances that I’ve read in years. I can’t wait to read your review of your pick.

  2. January 31, 2010 2:31 pm

    My favorite read this month was Audrey Niffenegger’s Her Fearful Symmetry. There are favorite books and then there are favorite books, and I think this one made it into the latter list for me. Haunting and exquisite. Makes me sigh just thinking about it!

    And I’m rather excited to read Going Bovine. It’s on my list for February for sure. :)

  3. January 31, 2010 3:20 pm

    you have wishlist books that come up? Wooooww… you are sooo lucky. :-p

    I was just thinking the same think about how hard it was to come up with a top books list for last year, and I was thinking about doing a monthly pick, too. Funny, huh? Maybe a quarterly, though, since I don’t quite read at your speed. LOL, I’m just a little over half, actually.

    Also, I thought that I just totally overlooked the books from the beginning of the year, so a quarterly pool might be a little more navigable twelve books from which to choose the ONE book ;-)

    • January 31, 2010 6:50 pm

      TKAM – Well, I have a *lot* of books on my wishlist, so occasionally one or two come through. :)

  4. January 31, 2010 3:32 pm

    Sad to say, I’ve only read one book this month, and really can’t say it was a favorite. Hope by next month I will have one, though. Today, I’m reading Ovid’s Metamorphoses.

    I’m going to have go back and look at your Best of 2009 and maybe find some new ideas.

  5. January 31, 2010 4:15 pm

    I just realized the cow has a garden gnome under it’s arm. Leg? Whatever. Now I’m curious as to what the books all about!

    And I love your idea of picking a favorite book each month. Very smart of you.

  6. January 31, 2010 4:45 pm

    I wasn’t in love with Libba Bray’s last series – I enjoyed it, but sort of more as a guilty pleasure. I’m definitely curious to see your review of Going Bovine. The cover is so strange and appealing!

    • January 31, 2010 6:52 pm

      Jenny – I was not in love with the Gemma Doyle books either. They were good, but I was never crazy-passionate-in-love with them the way that some people are. Going Bovine had a similar “traveling through a surreal landscape” vibe, but is otherwise very, very different.

  7. January 31, 2010 5:58 pm

    I am excited to read your thoughts about Going Bovine. Such and intriguing title and cover! My favorite for January? Wolf Hall.

  8. January 31, 2010 9:03 pm

    What a great idea! I can’t wait to see your Going Bovine review!

  9. February 1, 2010 12:30 am

    I’d be hard pressed to choose between Paper Towns and Looking for Alaska – both by John Green. He’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

