Skip to content

Carrie Jones – Captivate

January 22, 2010

6. Captivate by Carrie Jones (2010)
Need Series, Book 2

Read my review of:
– Book 1: Need

Length: 258 pages
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Started: 15 January 2010
Finished: 16 January 2010

Where did it come from? From the publisher for review.
Why do I have it? See above.
How long has it been on my TBR pile? Since 30 December 2009.

If you’re prejudiced
against pixies, doesn’t that
make you a fae-cist?

(Boooo, that was terrible, I’m sorry. The bad puns, I cannot resist them.)

Summary: Zara and her friends thought they had solved their pixie problems… but it turns out that their problems are just starting. Now that the previous pixie king is no longer in power, other pixies are moving in to the area, looking to claim his territory and his followers. Zara and her friends are the only ones that can stop them, but they’re also means they’re in the most danger. And when Zara meets a pixie who starts to convince her that the fae might not all be as evil as she thinks, she’s going to have to come to terms with what she’s done, and who she is… and who she’s becoming.

Review: Need, the first book in Carrie Jones’s pixie series, was moderately silly and entirely predictable, but was at least solidly entertaining. Captivate continues to be silly (although it was less predictable than its predecessor), but overall it just felt *lighter* than the first book. I realize that’s a little bit contradictory – complaining that a fluffy book about pixies and werewolves was too light – but while Need was able to hit its few notes solidly, Captivate felt like it just brushed the surface. The romance just wasn’t as involving, the scary parts just weren’t as creepy, and the emotional turmoil just didn’t cut as deeply as it did in the first book. I was still entertained, and I still tore through the book like there was no tomorrow, but I was left feeling like I just wanted *more* of everything.

There were some new additions in Captivate that I really enjoyed, too. Astley was an excellent new character, and I’m definitely curious to find out more about him, and what his true motivations are. The plot goes to some places that I wasn’t expecting, and I’m eager to see how Jones resolves all of the threads she’s set in motion. Plus, any time an author can toss some Norse mythology into the mix, I am a happy girl. So, while Captivate didn’t quite hit on all cylinders, there was still plenty of stuff to keep me interested, and keep me reading. 3 out of 5 stars.

Recommendation: Captivate is not a stand-alone book; most of the worldbuilding and a lot of the characterizations happen in Need. But, for fans of the first, while Captivate didn’t quite capture the magic of Need, it does take the plot and characters in some very new directions, and is definitely a fun read.

This Review on LibraryThing | This Book on LibraryThing | This Book on Amazon

Other Reviews: Beyond Books, Books by Their Cover, Sarah’s Random Musings, The Story Siren, Zoe’s Book Reviews
Have you reviewed this book? Leave a comment with the link and I’ll add it in.

First Line: Sometimes there are these bizarre people who actually like physical education class.

Cover Thoughts: Hey, look, it’s Sinead O’Connor as a pixie! No, seriously, it’s pretty good – the gold tear is a nice touch, although the title treatment still doesn’t look quite right to me. I also would have liked it if the gold dust was actually sparkly, because I am like a raccoon (or a five-year-old girl) when it comes to sparkly things.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 8:15 am

    I haven’t read Need, so I won’t look for this one. I have to tell you that I enjoyed the bad pun!

    • January 25, 2010 8:24 am

      bermudaonion – Okay, well, then, if the terrible pun made someone (other than me, that is) smile, then it was worth it. :)

  2. Zara permalink
    January 22, 2010 11:49 am

    hey fyrefly
    i’m zara … and i wanted a favor … i really liked need and i am still waiting anxiously for captivate and i would like u too tell me where u read the book … if online then plz send me the link (to ebook) on my hotmail cuz i live in pakistan … where newly american novel don’t arrive like after quite a lot of months in the stores and i’m desperate … i would be very thankful to u
    regards zara

    • January 25, 2010 8:25 am

      Zara – Sorry, I don’t think this is available as an e-book yet – I read it in paper form.

  3. tracy permalink
    April 1, 2010 6:14 pm

    hi, i’v read need and loved it , i’v just finnished captivate and it was just as good do you know when book three is due out

    • Lula permalink
      November 16, 2010 7:57 pm

      Oh! I loved them both too! The 3rd is coming out about December 14th! cant wait

  4. Paola permalink
    July 22, 2010 11:58 pm

    first I have to say that aswell tht although it predictable it too kept me reading untill I was done but here’s my question…It there going to be a third book after captivate … It seems like it was unfinished and it left to many threads untied plus it was an interesting book si I’m curious to know if there is

  5. valkyrie92 permalink
    September 2, 2010 4:12 am

    iv read online that there is a third book but they havnts chosen a name for the title or something like that

  6. Lula permalink
    November 15, 2010 6:07 pm

    I beleive pixies are real..and i have a reason to. I beleive i might have encountered one..not face to face. But using facts from these books it proves i have discovered one…not sure what rank he is. Now the real question is what to do……?

Trackbacks

  1. January Wrap-Up: Books and Reviews « Fyrefly's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

