Skip to content

Mini-Challenge: Dance-a-thon!

October 24, 2009

Okay everyone! It’s late (or early, depending on where you are), and most people here have probably spent the last 16+ hours on their butts reading.

But no more! Let’s get that blood flowing! Put down your books! Step away from your computers! Strap on your dancing shoes, ’cause it’s time to boogie!

Steps to completing the Dance-a-Thon Mini Challenge:

1. Cue up your favorite up-tempo, groove-inducing song on your CD player, MP3 player, live bluegrass band, whatever.

1a. (If there are folks sleeping nearby, perhaps plug in your headphones as well. Although if you opt for the live bluegrass band, do not try to plug your headphones directly into the banjo player.)

2. Hit play.

3. For the next three to five minutes, dance like an idiot. Move those feet! Get funky! Shake what your mama gave you! Wave your hands in the air like you just don’t care!

4. If you are feeling truly brave (and camera-enabled), take a video and share it. For the non-exhibitionists in the house, just come back here and leave a comment, letting us know what song you danced to. (First-time comments are moderated, but don’t worry – I’ll get to ’em all.)

The randomly-selected winner will receive a $10 gift certificate to the iTunes store. (This challenge is open internationally, so if you live somewhere where the iTunes store doesn’t work, I’ll make it an Amazon gift certificate instead.)

Oh, and for the record, I will personally be completing this challenge as well. My late-night-booty-shaking music of choice? Hey Ya! by OutKast, of course.

48 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 12:00 am

    im off to dance to cant touch this lol

  2. October 25, 2009 12:03 am

    Ooooh! I JUST did this to The Killers Human! I love dance-a-thons! :)

    No video of the dancing–figured that would scare people more than my vlogs today already have…

  3. October 25, 2009 12:08 am

    cued up “cotton eyed joe”! Got me pumpin and ready to start # 2 in a series…first book was 550 pgs…gonna be a long night!
    Dave
    mrlatts@gmail.com

  4. Rachel permalink
    October 25, 2009 12:09 am

    I cued up Pride and Joy by Stevie Ray Vaughn. Nothing like a little air guitar to get the blood flowing again :) Great challenge!

  5. October 25, 2009 12:10 am

    I “danced” to Accidentally in Love. =)

  6. October 25, 2009 12:10 am

    easy one – Virtual Insanity by Jamiroquai – I got turned onto this for a silent rave in Denver with friend from Improv Everywhere

  7. October 25, 2009 12:10 am

    My husband and I stuck itunes on Random and our song was Evacuation by Pearl Jam. :)

  8. October 25, 2009 12:12 am

    That’s SO fun!! My song? Jump Around by House of Pain. That one REALLY gets the blood pumping!!

  9. October 25, 2009 12:12 am

    I’m not much for booty shaking, but I took the three minutes off from listening to my audiobook to listen to some Stevie Wonder while I foraged in the kitchen. Quietly, of course, since the rest of the house is sleeping. Good luck as we head into the wee small hours!

  10. October 25, 2009 12:13 am

    Yo Fyrefly, I’m happy for you and Imma let you finish, but this is one of the best mini-challenges of all time. ALL TIME.

    I danced to–what else–Beyonce’s “Single Ladies.”

  11. October 25, 2009 12:17 am

    I Will Survive ;-) Fitting, I think.

  12. October 25, 2009 12:22 am

    Shake Your Groove Thing by Peaches & Herb!! Yes….seriously!!

  13. October 25, 2009 12:24 am

    Now how did you know that I aspire to be on Dancing with the Stars? ;) I got groovy with Eric Hutchinson’s ‘Rock & Roll’. I couldn’t stop there so I flipped over to Ingrid Michaelson and danced to ‘Be OK’. Thanks so much!

  14. October 25, 2009 12:24 am

    I had to dance gently and gingerly, because my folks have already gone to bed.

    But despite the reasonably-silent qualifier, I definitely just rocked out to “Jump For My Love” by the Pointer Sisters.

  15. October 25, 2009 12:24 am

    Since I just waked in the door from a banquet where there was dancing, I got this one covered! Brick House!

  16. October 25, 2009 12:28 am

    I am dancing to So what by Pink!

  17. October 25, 2009 12:31 am

    Boys Like Girls songs for me!

    Dancing + headbanging. YEAAHHH

  18. October 25, 2009 12:31 am

    “I Don’t Feel Like Dancing” by the Scissor Sisters. It always makes me feel like dancing! And, as an encore, “Break the Ice” by Britney Spears. Hey, I can’t help what turns up on shuffle!!!

  19. October 25, 2009 12:32 am

    Boy that felt good! Dancing Queen from the Mama Mia soundtrack!

  20. October 25, 2009 12:32 am

    My song was Poker Face by Lady Gaga. Got my blood pumping good!

  21. October 25, 2009 12:33 am

    lol..Forever by Chris Brown; and yes i pretended i was in that wedding video!

  22. October 25, 2009 12:37 am

    I went to my girls to get me a song for this one – they gave me You’re a Jerk by New Boyz – we watched the video while we danced! – http://www.mtv.com/videos/new-boyz/399183/youre-a-jerk.jhtml

  23. October 25, 2009 12:38 am

    I went with Timebomb by Beck. Also fitting, I think.

    Sorry, no video. I learned long ago that documentation of my attempts at dancing result in blackmail. *shudders at the unspeakable horrors*

  24. October 25, 2009 12:44 am

    I had Passion Pit on loop, together with the OST of 500 days of summer (You make my dreams come true makes me imagine I’m in a musical haha)

    My gf even snapped up a pic of me dancing like crazy, in my livejournal:

    http://www.livejournal.com/users/aphazia

    Cool challenge! Thanks and happy reading! :)

  25. October 25, 2009 12:48 am

    “Disturbia” by Rihanna ;)

  26. October 25, 2009 12:52 am

    As I just watched the episode of Glee with Single Ladies, I had to choose that one!

  27. resurfacer permalink
    October 25, 2009 12:53 am

    lol.. I danced on a couple..

    1. Strangers in the night – Frank Sintara :).. I like slow dancing

    2. I will survive !!

    Awesome challenge :)

  28. October 25, 2009 12:55 am

    I just jumped it out to The Donnas’ cover of “Dancing with Myself”

  29. October 25, 2009 12:56 am

    Oooh, I’m not that brave to film myself dancing. Buy Lady Gaga definitely has some good dance songs. My favourite has got to be “Paparazzi”. Groooovy! Especially when dancing to the weird video. xD

  30. October 25, 2009 1:14 am

    I went with Boom Boom Pow by the BlackEyed Peas, and then just because it’s so much freaking fun to dance, I carried on with Lady Gaga’s Just Dance!

  31. October 25, 2009 1:14 am

    I went all out to Walk This Way- Run DMC/Aerosmith.

    That was fun!

  32. October 25, 2009 1:15 am

    LOve Hey Ya! Ok boogied alone (hubby is asleep it is after midnight here) and no video evidence as I have been up a long time…LOL

    Thanks for the challenge and the little pick me up. :)

  33. carriez permalink
    October 25, 2009 1:20 am

    I picked the Black Eyes Peas “I Gotta Feeling” to shake my booty to!!

  34. October 25, 2009 1:21 am

    Hooray! Fun challenge. I went with Lady Gaga. :)

  35. October 25, 2009 1:26 am

    I danced to Good Girls Go Bad by Cobra Starship! :) Dance dance dance!

  36. October 25, 2009 1:30 am

    i practiced my lindy to brian setzer’s jump jive and wail. loads of fun! my MIL even danced with me. :) great challenge!

  37. October 25, 2009 1:50 am

    Just danced to “September” by Earth, Wind & Fire. Was a great break before my next book!

  38. October 25, 2009 2:06 am

    Dancing to Under The Sea from Little Mermaid lol. I hit shuffle on my Ipod.

  39. October 25, 2009 2:07 am

    Dancing to Slumdog Millionaire Ringa Ringa-almost as good as doing yoga.

  40. October 25, 2009 2:24 am

    I totally busted out the Vanilla Ice – Ice Ice Baby. Phew.

  41. October 25, 2009 2:27 am

    This is great – since I actually just woke up from a nap and want to sleep more than anything. The booty shaking helped!
    I chose “Dance Party For Two” by the Unlovables, and it was the PERFECT song to get me back in the mood!

  42. October 25, 2009 4:20 am

    I just danced to Juan Luis Guerra “A pedir su mano” – one of my fave merengue songs! Always gets the blood pumping!

    Happy reading!

  43. October 26, 2009 7:49 pm

    Hi Nicki,

    I believe I’m your prize-winner for this challenge! WOO HOO! I’m just getting recovered from the read-a-thon and having to go to work right afterwards. Eek! Do you need any info from me?

    Thanks!
    Patti @ Reading Distractions

Trackbacks

  1. Dewey’s Read-a-Thon » Hour 17
  2. Mini-Challenge: Dance-a-thon! · Video Beijing
  3. Dewey’s Read-a-Thon » Hour 18
  4. Dewey’s Read-a-Thon » Hour 19
  5. Dewey’s Read-a-thon: Updates post | LiyanaLand

Leave a Reply

