Skip to content

Sunday Salon: November Short-List

November 2, 2008

The Sunday Salon.comI love having unread books around the house (good thing, too, since I finally topped 200 books in my TBR pile), but I will admit, it can get a bit overwhelming sometimes. There’s so many books that I want to be reading, and I want to be reading them all *right now*. New books will come in the mail, and I’ll want to stop everything and start reading them – even when I want to keep reading the one I’m reading!

I’ve found in the past that vacations, or any time I’m away from home and have to decide ahead of time what books I’m going to be in the mood to read in the future, really helps me plow through my books. Having a limited selection helps force me to finally get around to those books that I really do want to read, but that kept getting bumped down the list by a new acquisition or a library book that just has to be finished.

So, I’ve made a short-list of books that I’d like to read in November. Some are from my TBR pile, some are ones that I know are coming from the library, some are audiobooks. Without further ado, here’s my virtual box of books for the next month:

A Breath of Snow and Ashes by Diana Gabaldon. I’m currently about halfway through this, although it’s almost 1000 pages long, and with fairly small, close-set font, it’s taking a while. Enjoyable so far, though.

The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson. My hold on this just came up at the library. So excited! I loved the first two, and have been dying to read the third one since I finished the second this summer… only problem is it wasn’t published until a few weeks ago. Guess what I’m doing for the rest of today! (My fatty-fat Diana Gabaldon book is just going to have to go on pause for a while.)

Fables, Volumes 7, 8, 9, 10 (and possibly 11, which is being released towards the end of the month – depends on how quickly my library gets it in.) by Bill Willingham. Technically, I’m already at work on my short-list, since I read Vol. 7 yesterday.

Alcatraz Versus the Scrivener’s Bones by Brandon Sanderson. Technically, this was just released yesterday, but I got an ARC from a lovely BookMoocher a few weeks ago, so I feel like I should get this one read as soon as possible.

The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent. Have heard SO MANY good things about this one, but somehow each time in October that I finished a book, there was always something else calling for my attention just a leeeeetle bit louder.

The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly. Ditto.

Abarat by Clive Barker. Dave already finished it, I think, but I’d still like to read it before he forgets about it.

Spook by Mary Roach. Totally failed to read this during October, when it would have been seasonally appropriate. Ah, well, “appropriate” is one of those things which I don’t get accused of being very often.

Shield of Three Lions by Pamela Kaufman. This was “assigned” to me in the Go Review That Book! group at LibraryThing over a month ago, and there just always seems to be something else I’d rather be reading. This month, though, I *will* get to it.

Mirror, Mirror by Gregory Maguire. My current audiobook. I actually got a good chunk of the way through this yesterday, both at the gym and then working on piecing together the blanket I’ve been crocheting. Shouldn’t be too long before I can start…

Inkdeath by Cornelia Funke. Another one I’ve been waiting for what feels like forever, even though it’s been only about 6 months. Also, the audiobook wasn’t released until two weeks after the print version. I was tempted, but since I listened to the first two, I figured I’d keep up the trend. I might have to re-read Inkheart before the movie comes out in January, too.

That’s totally manageable, right? I can (and will!) get through those, and still have a little leeway for that exciting new book that catches my eye – because god knows, one always will.

What do you have on your reading/listening plate for November?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2008 5:40 am

    I thought I might read The Book of Lost Things for the R.I.P. challenge, but it wasn’t meant to be. I’ve had Inkheart staring at me for quite a while too. Sigh. What you said about liking to have lots of unread books around, but getting overwhelmed by them sometimes, is so true! Hope you have a great month!

  2. jessidee permalink
    November 2, 2008 7:53 am

    Wow, 200 TBR books? Good luck whittling down that stack. :) Your November list sounds totally doable. Enjoy the Fables series. When you finish, you should check out Y: The Last Man. That’s my other favorite series, and it just ended this year. The Book of Lost Things is on my TBR list, too, so I’ll be really interested to read your review.

  3. November 2, 2008 8:24 am

    For this month I’m trying to read volumes 6-11 of Fables. I emailed my librarian and he agreed to order them. Yah! I have Reading like a Writer by Francine Prose and Goldengrove also by Prose. Death with Interruptions by Jose Saramago, The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter, and Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name by Vendela Vita. Have a great week and let’s hope we get through our lists this month!

  4. November 2, 2008 8:26 am

    You’ve got some good ones on there. I think I’m the only person who hasn’t enjoyed Gregory Maguire’s books. :(

  5. November 2, 2008 8:46 am

    LOL–I always have books that are calling to me a leeeetle bit louder also. Actually, when as soon as I got Heretic’s Daughter in the mail it was screaming at me so I started reading it right then and there.

    I’ll be reading a bunch of boring challenge books this month. :( OK, so they aren’t boring, but I would rather be reading something else…but I just can’t seem to walk away from the challenges! Especially when I’m hosting one!

  6. November 2, 2008 8:58 am

    tanabata – I actually wasn’t crazy about Inkheart… the premise was cool and it was well-written, but it just seemed to drag on a bit in the middle. Inkspell was miles better, though, and ended on enough of a cliffhanger that it’s been terribly hard waiting for the translation of Inkdeath.

    jessidee – I’ve heard good things about Y – and it’s always nice starting a series with a know end!

    Vasilly – Hooray for friendly librarians who will get us the books we want!

    bermudaonion – Nah, don’t feel bad. I definitely thought Wicked was not nearly as good as all of the hype made it out to be. I did enjoy Leaping Beauty, though, which was his kids’ book of re-told fairy tales, starring animals instead of people.

    Trish – I think that’s why I don’t do many challenges… I know my attention will shift in the middle, and I don’t like having to force myself to read stuff I don’t really want to. Good luck with yours, though. :)

  7. November 2, 2008 9:49 am

    You’ve got some good stuff on your list! I’m hoping to read THE HERO OF AGES in November myself, but my library takes forever to process books. It’s touch and go whether I’ll be reading it this month or next month. I plan to reread the first two right before it, too, as it’s been more than a year and I want to make sure the details are fresh in my mind.

  8. November 2, 2008 11:24 am

    At least with so many unread books, you always have something to read no matter what your mood. Hopefully. :-) I do know the feeling of wanting to read them all right now–I feel the same way too sometimes.

    Last year I found that the reading challenges really helped me focus on getting some of the books on my TBR shelves read for the very reason you mention about making vacation lists. I intended to do more of the same this year, but got sidetracked with the rush of review books that came in. I hope to better balance both next year.

    You’ve got some great reading ahead of you! I hope you have a wonderful week!

  9. November 2, 2008 12:04 pm

    I envy you your easy access to Fables! I have to buy them online, which is why I’ve been reading them so slowly. It was the same with Sandman – worse, actually, as I remember the books being more expensive.

    I loved The Book of Lost Things. I hope you enjoy it too! And I look forward to your thoughts on Mirror, Mirror. That’s one I really want to read.

    In November, I’d like to wrap up most of my challenges for this year. So I’ll be reading Practical Magic, Inkheart, Across the Wall by Garth Nix, The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper and King Rat by China Mieville. As for the rest, we’ll see where my mood takes me!

  10. November 2, 2008 1:32 pm

    Wow! Sounds like you have a lot of reading ahead of you. I think it’s time for you to take a nice 2 week holiday to Mexico or Bermuda or anywhere you can lie on the beach with your book castle built up around you. hehehe

    My reading list for November includes finishing The Good Guy by Dean Koontz. I’m also waiting for a review copy from an author friend, so his book will be read once I receive it. Then I have at least 20 other books I’d like to finish reading before the end of this year, but I doubt I’ll do it. I have too many writing priorities. :)

    Cheers!

    Cheryl Kaye Tardif,
    author of Whale Song
    http://www.cherylktardif.com

  11. November 2, 2008 1:48 pm

    I have a lot of books to read too but definitely not as many as you! 200 books! Wow!

  12. November 2, 2008 2:13 pm

    Memory – I was debating doing a re-read, but it’s only been about six months for me, or maybe a little less, so hopefully I’ll be able to remember what’s going on. If not, I’ll just have to re-read the whole series anyways… what a terrible fate! :)

    Literary Feline – That’s very true… I do enjoy being able to (almost) always find something to read to fit my mood.

    Nymeth – I do so love my local library – it’s among the top-ranked libraries in the U.S. I don’t know what I’m going to do when I have to move! I really enjoyed Across the Wall and The Dark is Rising, and Inkheart good if a bit draggy in the middle. I haven’t read King Rat, although I liked Perdido Street Station enough that I’d be willing to give it a try – I’ll be looking forward to your review!

    Cheryl – Don’t I wish! Alas, no beachy goodness for me this month – about the most exotic travel I’ve got planned is my parents’ for Thanksgiving.

    Mari – I know, it’s terrible, I’m such an addict. :)

  13. November 2, 2008 3:51 pm

    Those look like fun! I’m going to try to finish Villette and The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay. And my Fall Into Reading books, I almost forgot about those…

  14. November 2, 2008 8:20 pm

    Hero of Ages is on top of my TBR list too. In fact, I can’t believe I haven’t gotten to it yet because I have really been looking forward to reading it.

    Also in my plans for November are the two latest Temeraire books and The Gypsy Morph by Terry Brooks.

  15. November 2, 2008 10:41 pm

    This is a great idea!! (I might steal it.) :)

  16. November 3, 2008 10:45 am

    Kim – Good luck with Kavalier & Clay – I loved it, and it made me fall in love with Chabon as an author.

    Laura – I’ve been meaning to get around to the rest of the Temeraire books, after loving the first one, but somehow have just never managed to do it. I think part of my reluctance is that I don’t have them all on the shelf, and hate having to wait in the middle of a series that I’m enjoying to get the next book.

    Jessica – Help yourself!

  17. November 3, 2008 2:17 pm

    Fantastic list for November! It seems as though I never make any progress on my reading pile because I’m always starting stuff and moving on to the new books – it’s a constant shuffle for me. I think I may have to institute a new rule for myself – no new books until I finished all my half-reads.

    Oh and those paperback Gabaldons!!! The print is so frickin’ tiny my eyes cross after 15 or so pages (I wonder if they are available as large prints at the library) :)

  18. November 3, 2008 4:29 pm

    Joanne – Gah, I think large-print Gabaldons would require multiple volumes per book, or else the weight would pop the tires on your car trying to get them home from the library!

  19. November 3, 2008 8:50 pm

    Nicki – I am looking forward to your thoughts on The Heretic’s Daughter. I really, really liked this book. I’m just not sure I LOVED it as much as everyone else did.

  20. November 4, 2008 10:00 am

    Shana – I usually find that when my expectations are super-high, the book feels like a bit of a let-down no matter how good it is. I’m trying to go into The Heretic’s Daughter expecting a solid piece of historical fiction and that’s it – anything else will be a bonus – so thanks for your tempered opinion!

Leave a Reply

