Skip to content

Sunday Salon: Bits of Book & Blog Babble

August 23, 2009

The Sunday Salon.com First off, I was thrilled to receive notification this week that I was nominated for two BBAW awards: Best Fantasy/Sci-Fi/Horror/Speculative Fiction, and Most Concise. I have to believe that that last one was on the strength of my haikus, because my reviews themselves? Not so much. :) I know it’s cliché, but it really was an honor just to be nominated, so, thank you, awesome nominators!
_____________________

It was also a really good week for my acquiring stuff off my wishlist that had been impossible to find:

- A copy of Colman by Monica Furlong arrived in the mail from Bookmooch. It’s the out-of-print sequel to Juniper and Wise Child, which I loved as a kid (Juniper) and when I read it four-or-so years ago (Wise Child), and have been trying to get my hands on Colman ever since I learned of its existence a few years ago, but it’s the sort of thing that never seemed to turn up in used book stores or on Bookmooch… until now!

- I was able to mooch a copy of Underdog by Markus Zusak from Israel. It’s his first book, and comes before Fighting Ruben Wolfe and Getting the Girl, and while I didn’t love those two as much as The Book Thief and I Am The Messenger, I *love* Zusak’s writing style and also am a bit of a completist. It’s not normally available in the US, so I was beyond pumped to find a copy listed on BookMooch by someone who was willing to send internationally.

- I’ve got Fables Vol. 12: The Dark Ages sitting on my table, hot off the presses! I may have mentioned how much I love my local library, but one of the things I particularly love is that I can go (in best Veruca Salt voice) “I want that! Buy it for me! Dance, monkeys, dance!” and they WILL! (Although on the website the link is called “Suggestion for Purchase”, but that’s boring.) Aaaanyways, if you’re the first one to suggest they buy it, you’re the first one on the hold list when they do. I had totally forgot Fables was coming out this week, until I went to the library on Tuesday to pick up some other holds (another volume of Angel: After the Fall and a disc of Rome) and the woman working the checkout pulled three items off the shelf. I am not kidding, I actually squealed aloud.
_____________________________

Two Twilight related links/pieces of merchandise, sent to me from a friend (who claims she got them from Jezebel… riiiiiiight. We all know what kind of things she’s been shopping for in her spare time.)

- Who doesn’t want their very own life-size silhouette of Edward Cullen plastered to their bedroom wall, reminding them to “Be safe.” and watching them sleep? Creepy.

- It’s very pale white! It sparkles in the sun! It can be kept in the freezer for an appropriately cold-to-the-touch feeling! It, unlike its inspiration, doesn’t give a damn if you’re married or not! It is thoroughly NSFW and inappropriate for kiddos under 18 and those who are offended by sex! (Personally, I can’t believe no company came up with this sooner.)
_____________________________

I am trying to decide whether or not I want to re-read none, some, or all of the Wheel of Time books before the new one, The Gathering Storm, comes out this fall. It’s been about 4 years since I last read the series, and I *know* I’ve forgotten where most of the storylines are, not to mention some crucial details. The final three books are scheduled to come out roughly one per year, starting this fall, and I can’t decide whether I should re-read the whole thing now and then maybe have to again before the final book comes out, whether I should just re-read the most recent book (book 11) before book 12, or whether I should just not read (or re-read) anything until everything is published. What say you?


_____________________________

I spent pretty much all of yesterday reading The Secret History of the Pink Carnation rather than accomplishing any of the things I needed to accomplish (including trying to further cut down my ever-present review backlog), so today will mostly be spent working and getting errands and other household things done. Woohoo.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2009 9:26 am

    Congratulations on your nominations!

  2. Ann permalink
    August 23, 2009 10:12 am

    I hadn’t realized there was a second sequel to ‘Juniper’. I am going to have to go out and search for a copy myself. Thanks for information.

    • August 23, 2009 12:42 pm

      Ann – There’s a fair number of used copies on Amazon, but they’re a little pricier than I was willing to pay for a kids’ book. Good luck with your search!

  3. August 23, 2009 11:15 am

    On your poll I voted other: re-read all now via audiobooks. That’s what I’m thinking of doing if I can get them through my library.

    Congrats on the nominations!

    • August 23, 2009 12:35 pm

      Laura – My first time through I listened to the audiobooks (1-10 plus New Spring; Knife of Dreams wasn’t out yet.) They’re really excellently done, but they’re *long* – it took me slightly over a year to listen to all of them!

      • August 24, 2009 10:01 pm

        Whoops, I guess it’s too late for that then. At least before this next book.

      • August 24, 2009 10:13 pm

        Yeah, I think I tallied them up at 300+ hours.

  4. August 23, 2009 11:31 am

    Fables 12 is on its way to me. Yay! Congrats on your nominations. :)

    • August 23, 2009 12:36 pm

      I’ve been putting off actually reading it… I think I want to savor the fact that I still have new Fables to read! I should stop being a jerk and just read it already so it can go back to the other six million people on the hold list for it at the library.

  5. August 23, 2009 11:33 am

    Congratulations on your nominations!!

    Lezlie

  6. August 23, 2009 11:35 am

    Congratulations on your nominations and your great book finds!

  7. August 23, 2009 11:44 am

    Congrats on the nominations, and on the wishlist finds! I just love it when I stumble across something I’ve been looking for forever.

    I’m planning to hold off on rereading WoT until all the books are out in paperback (and are thus light enough for me to haul around without injuring myself). I know I want to reread the whole series before I launch into the new ones, and I’d rather not do that three years running.

    And thank you – that Edward Cullen silhouette is going to give me NIGHTMARES!

    • August 23, 2009 12:38 pm

      Yeah, the “three years running” thing is what’s giving me pause. I’m not going to buy any of the hardbacks, but I could do what I did with Knife of Dreams… get the hardcover from the library, then wait to get my own copy in paperback.

  8. August 23, 2009 12:33 pm

    congrats on your bbaw nominations!

  9. August 23, 2009 3:02 pm

    That’s wonderful about your nominations! Congratulations!

  10. August 24, 2009 11:59 am

    Congrats on your nominations, that’s great.

    I’m behind with Fables — I think I stopped at number 9, no idea why. Maybe because I hate getting to the end of a series and having to wait for the next book. I hope 12 is awesome!

    I hope the Zusak book is good as well. I’ve been meaning to find I Am the Messenger.

    • August 24, 2009 12:51 pm

      Kim – I’d keep going with Fables until 11. At that point, the war with the Adversary is resolved, and it’s kind of a natural stopping place.

      And I hope you can get your hands on a copy of I am the Messenger… it’s not *quite* as good as The Book Thief, but I still thought it was fantastic.

  11. August 24, 2009 2:14 pm

    Congrats!

    –Anna

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 951 other followers

