Skip to content

Julie Kenner – Demons Are Forever

June 29, 2009

78. Demons are Forever: Confessions of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom by Julie Kenner (2007)
Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom, Book 3

Read my review of:
- Book 1, Carpe Demon
- Book 2, California Demon

Length: 292 pages
Genre: Fantasy; Chick-lit

Started: 23 June 2009
Finished: 23 June 2009

Where did it come from? Christmas gift from a friend.
Why do I have it? See above.
How long has it been on my TBR pile? Since 26 December 2007 (Bad Nicki!)
Verdict? Probable keeper.

Fighting demons is
harder when your family won’t
stay out of the way.

Summary: As Kate Connor knows, balancing demon hunting with being a mom to a 14-year-old girl is never easy… but it’s even harder when that daughter knows about the Hunting – and wants to join in. Adding to the complications are the fact that Kate is still convinced that David Long, her daughter’s biology teacher, may actually be harboring the soul of her first husband, who was murdered five years previously. And while family life is complicated enough, there are also demons flocking to San Diablo, looking for a stone with the power to unleash a demon army.

Review: These books are complete brain candy for me; they read quickly, they’re fun, they don’t make me think terribly hard. The first two books, Carpe Demon and California Demon, were both fun and enjoyable, but were essentially light, fluffy reads, and neither of them left me scrambling to get my hands on the next book in the series. Imagine my surprise, then, when I actually found myself getting emotionally involved in this book , and – given that it ends with one heck of a punch – anxious to find out what happens next. That doesn’t mean that this book wasn’t still fun, and it doesn’t mean that I didn’t devour it in an afternoon, but I was surprised at how much I was putting myself in Kate’s shoes, and empathizing with her over her choices. (I’ve never really identified with Kate before, being neither a mother or a demon hunter.)

The writing style also continues to get smoother and more polished as the series continues, which is all to the good. There’s still occasional bits of “my husband is weak when it comes to boobs and can be therefore manipulated into anything I want by strategic use of a new low-cut (and extremely expensive) dress” that rankle against the feminist girl-kicking-ass vibe that these books want to give off, but at least the “No one threatens my family and lives!!!” wailing has been toned down a bit. It’s still thematically there, of course, but Kate no longer feels the need to say it every few pages. 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Recommendation: Nothing extraordinary, but solid summer-appropriate butt-kicking brain-candy fun – plus this one has a bit more emotional heft under the fluff than did its predecessors.

This Review on LibraryThing | This Book on LibraryThing | This Book on Amazon

Other Reviews: The Bookworm, Dear Author, Best Fantasy Stories, Puss Reboots
Have you reviewed this book? Leave a comment with the link and I’ll add it in.

First Line: I killed my first demon at the ripe old age of fourteen.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2009 7:51 am

    Brain candy or not, that looks like a fun book! I love the cover.

  2. June 29, 2009 9:33 am

    bermudaonion – They are fun covers, aren’t they? This one actually took place *less* at the high school than the previous one, but they’re still good at giving a good feeling for the tone of the book.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 909 other followers

