Skip to content

Stephenie Meyer – Breaking Dawn

August 19, 2008

101. Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer (2008)
Twilight Series, Book 4

Read my Review of:
– Book 1: Twilight (at LibraryThing)
– Book 2: New Moon (at LibraryThing)
– Book 3: Eclipse

Length: 757 pages

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy/Romance

Started: 18 August 2008
Finished: 19 August 2008

Although probably everyone who cares has read it already, I am going to do my best to keep this review spoiler-free beyond the first few chapters, but if you’re extremely spoiler-phobic, you may want to skip this one.

Summary: This final book in the Twilight series brings us several events that readers have been waiting for for thousands of pages, beginning with Bella and Edward’s wedding. The ceremony surprisingly goes off without a hitch, but when Bella’s life is put in unexpected danger on their honeymoon, they must return home. For danger to Bella is the only thing that can force Jacob and Edward to be allies… the only thing, that is, until the truly unforeseen happens, which forces the Cullens and the werewolves into an uneasy pact to protect their families against the greatest threat they’ve ever faced.

Review: I knew before I started this book that Edward and Bella got married early on (in fact, just looking at the title page, chapter 3 is called “The Big Day”), and I suspected that this meant that she was going to get her way regarding both the sex and the vampiric transformation. What I should have realized, but didn’t, is that she had to have some twists up her sleeve to fill the other 700 pages, and I should have guessed which directions at least some of those twists were going to go. But I didn’t, and so Meyer got at least one good shock of surprise out of me, at the end of the second section (which is narrated from Jacob’s point of view.) Unfortunately, I didn’t particularly like the direction in which these new twists took the story; up to this point, this series has been about Bella and Edward and Jacob and their melodramatic issues. I feel like if you’re going to write about a love triangle, you have to really commit to dealing with the issues, and Breaking Dawn took the emotional power right out of the characters’ hands and provided them the easiest possible way out, without anyone ever having to take emotional responsibility for the repercussions of their actions. Actually, this sense of an “easy way out” permeated most of the book – most of the conflict that’s been building throughout the series was resolved in the first half of the book, leaving the characters nothing to do in the second half but prepare for a new conflict… which ultimately fizzles out. I have no problem with happy endings in general, but this one felt too facile, unearned, and ultimately unsatisfactory.

I will admit that this book didn’t enrage me nearly as much as its predecessors. I won’t go so far as to say that I liked Edward, but his abusive-boyfriend (husband) tendencies weren’t much on display, and I finally got at least an inkling of what the squealing hordes of pre-teens see in him. Jacob remains my favorite character, although I was really not fond of the direction his story in particular took. Bella, on the other hand, annoyed me as much as ever: she’s so very passive, willing to let other people make decisions for her (a few arguments over whether Jacob or Edward should be “responsible” for her stuck in my craw the wrong way), and extraordinarily, self-effacingly concerned about what Edward wanted, regardless of her own feelings. Plus, Meyer’s morality surrounding sex, marriage, gender roles, and now motherhood just squicks me out, especially when I see teens and pre-teens reading these books. Perhaps they should come with warning labels: “CAUTION! Bella and Edward are not role models of appropriate behavior or healthy relationships. Do not try this at home.” 3 out of 5 stars.

Recommendation: Once again, Stephenie Meyer leaves me with a host (ha!) of conflicting impressions. I devoured this book in just over a day, but I was ultimately unimpressed.

This Review on LibraryThing | This Book on LibraryThing | This Book on Amazon

Other Reviews: Muse Books, Stephanie’s Written Word, The Book Nest, Book Binge, So Many Books, So Little Time…, The Reading Zone, Maw Books Blog, The Bluestocking Society

First Line: I’d had more than my fair share of near-death experiences; it wasn’t something you ever really got used to.

Vocab:

  • p. 612: ““Carlisle,” the taller of the two very tall ferine women greeted him when they arrived.” – untamed; feral.
    .
9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2008 1:24 pm

    Great review! Even though I liked the book more than you did, I can understand your point of view (and feel the same way about the conflict at the end – how boring)! Maybe she is just setting up Jacob and you-know-who to continue the story in another book?

  2. August 20, 2008 9:33 am

    Just wanted to stop off and say thanks for commenting at J. Kaye’s Book Blog. I am not reading the review just yet because I plan on reading BREAKING DAWN on Monday. :)

    Also, I wanted to let you know your blog will be spotlighted this week.

  3. August 20, 2008 11:37 am

    First of all, congrats on reading your 101st book of the year!

    Second, I very much agree with your review. It seems like most readers are giving this one a tepid review. I think that sums up why I was disappointed with the book – it was tepid. There was no real conflict or emotional connection.

  4. August 20, 2008 12:23 pm

    Stephanie – Oh, I hope not. I really hope she just leaves it; continuing to write sequels is going to start to feel like flogging the dead horse of popularity. :) Also, Jacob is (was?) my favorite character, and I really didn’t like the him and you-know-who angle.

    J. Kaye – I’ll be looking forward to your review… it’s definitely a one-sitting kind of book!

    Jessica – Thanks! Tepid is a very good word for it; it kind of felt like she couldn’t come up with a satisfactory way to resolve the love triangle or the conflict at the end, so she just took the easy but unsatisfactory out.

  5. August 21, 2008 7:47 pm

    HI! i just wanted to stop by and thanks for stopping by my site!

    I have to say that i pretty much agree with you on Breaking Dawn. And i am also a Jacob fan. I hope that SM continues to tell his story. I’ve had enough of Bella personally.

    I love your header too!!

  6. September 2, 2008 1:13 pm

    Your review is an apt description to a variety of my own problems with Meyer’s series. While I’ve read the previous three I have simply not had the inclination to pick up the third. But I think your “recommendation” is spot on.

  7. September 4, 2008 9:02 am

    Story Siren – As tired as I am of Bella, I don’t know how I feel about Jacob in the absence of Bella, if that makes sense. I really enjoyed reading his POV chapters, but in the third part, he got pretty tiresome.

    bookchronicle – I really, really don’t understand my own conflicting reactions to Stephenie Meyer’s work. She makes me so angry, and I want to go up and have a Serious Talk with every pre-teen girl that I see reading her books, but at the same time, I can’t stop reading them myself.

  8. Les permalink
    October 4, 2009 8:20 pm

    I totally disagree with you..For one issue on the preteens reading these books they should know better and not be so stupid enough to acutally read that and think they have to did exactly what bella and edward did. If they do thats their stupidity and not the books. I was comepletly drawn to the whole twilight saga and i very much so wish that shed continue it after breaking dawn because i really want to know how bella and edward turns out living their life with u know who and how you know who and jacob react with each other.

Trackbacks

  1. August Wrap-Up « Fyrefly’s Book Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 912 other followers

